A Daughter of Isis

The Early Life of Nawal el Saadawi

av Nawal El Saadawi. Häftad, 2009

Pris:  201:-
Skickas inom 3-6 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige för privatpersoner vid beställning på minst 99 kr!


Har du läst boken? Bli först att betygsätta och recensera boken .

  • Häftad (Paperback)
  • Språk: Engelska
  • Antal sidor: 368
  • Utg.datum: 2009-04-09
  • Upplaga: 2 Rev ed
  • Förlag: Zed Books Ltd
  • Översättare: Sherif Hetata
  • Medarbetare: Aptheker, Bettina (foreword)
  • Illustrationer: black & white illustrations
  • Dimensioner: 203 x 133 x 12 mm
  • Vikt: 385 g
  • Antal komponenter: 1
  • ISBN: 9781848132320

Recensioner i media

'This brave book brings to life all too familiar news items from some traditional cultures where women are treated throughout their lives as misfortunes, compared to their brothers; are forcibly clitorectomised, married off at the age of ten. The author fought injustice all her life, succeeded in becoming a doctor... then a writer. In our culture women's education was fought for by our grandmothers and great-grandmothers; reading this we are reminded not to take our good fortune for granted. This is a book we should all be reading...' Doris Lessing 'In this book we see how, from an early age, Saadawi combines her love of the Arabic language with her awareness of gender-based oppression to create texts which are as subversive as they are moving...' Modern African Studies 'As I finished reading Dr. Nawal's autobiography I felt a sudden sense of loss. I didn't want to leave her. I went back and read the last sections again, and then again, until I remembered how many other books she has written. Then I felt delight that I will be able to return to her words and to her stories, and that so many others will share in them.' Bettina Aptheker

Bloggat om

Övrig information

Nawal El Saadawi is a renowned Egyptian writer, novelist and activist. She has published over 40 books, which have been translated into over 30 languages. Nawal El Saadawi graduated from the University of Cairo Medical College in 1955, specializing in psychiatry, and practiced as a medical doctor until taking the position of Director General for Public Health Education in the Ministry of Health. In 1972 she lost her job in the Egyptian government because of her banned book: Woman and Sex. In 1982, she established the Arab Women's Solidarity Association (AWSA), the Egyptian Branch of which was outlawed in Egypt in 1991. In 1981 Saadawi was arrested and imprisoned for publicly criticizing President Anwar Sadat's policies. She was released one month after his assassination. Her name appeared on a fundamentalist death list after publishing her novel The Fall of the Imam in Cairo in 1988 and she was obliged to leave her country, to teach in the USA. Other court cases have been raised against both her and her daughter and defeated. In 2008 she defeated a case that demanded the withdrawal of her Egyptian Nationality in response to her play God Resigns at the Summit Meeting. Her most famous novel, Woman at Point Zero was published in Beirut in 1973. It was followed in 1976 by God Dies by the Nile and in 1977 by The Hidden Face of Eve. The Hidden Face of Eve was her first book to be translated to English and was published by Zed Books in 1980. Her most recent novel is Zina: The Stolen Novel (2008). Nawal El Saadawi holds more than ten honorary doctorates from different universities in Europe and the USA. Her many prizes and awards include the Great Minds of the Twentieth Century Prize (2003), the North-South Prize from the Council of Europe, the Premi Internacional Catalunya (2004) , and most recently she was the 2007 recipient of The African Literature Association's Fonlon-Nichols Award. Her books are taught in universities across the world.


* Foreword - Bettina Aptheker* Preface - The Gift*1. Allah and McDonalds*2. The Cry in the Night*3. God Above, Husband Below*4. We Thank God for our Calamities*5. Flying with the Butterflies*6. Killing the Bridegroom*7. Daughter of the Sea*8. My Revolutionary Father*9. The Lost Servant-Girl*10. The Village of Forgotten Employees*11. God Hid Behind the Coat-Stand*12. The Ministry of Nauseation*13. Dreaming of Pianos*14. To the Circus*15. The Singing Man*16. The Whiskered Peasant*17. Uncles, Suitors and other Bloodsuckers*18. A Stove for my Mother*19. Coming to Cairo*20. The Long, Strong Bones of a Horse*21. Love and the Hideous Cat*22. Art Thieves*23. Mad Aunts and Abandoned Babies*24. The House of Desolation*25. The Secret Communist*26. Wasted Lives*27. Cholera, Ageing and Death*28. The Qur'an Betrayed*29. British English and Holy Arabic*30. The Name of Marx*31. The Brush of History* Afterword - Living in Resistance