Cardboard Universe, The (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
560
Utgivningsdatum
2009-04-14
Förlag
HarperPerennial
Dimensioner
203 x 133 x 31 mm
Vikt
453 g
Antal komponenter
1
ISBN
9780061686368
Cardboard Universe, The (häftad)

Cardboard Universe, The

A Guide to the World of Phoebus K. Dank

Häftad Engelska, 2009-04-14
119
Specialorder (osäker tillgång). Skickas inom 11-20 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige för privatpersoner.
Boken kan tyvärr inte levereras innan julafton.
From his humble beginnings as a scribbler of generic science fictions to the night of his horrifying death, Phoebus Kinsman Dank was probably the only real genius of our time, and certainly the most prolific...So writes William 'Bill' Boswell, the nation's leading 'Dankian' scholar and coauthor of "The Cardboard Universe", the seminal biographical guide to the science fiction writer's life and work. After years of tracking the obese, obsessive, and logorrheic pulp novelist, Boswell joins his coauthor, critic, and disaffected fellow acolyte Owen Hirt, to create the ultimate guide to Dank's life and work: a biographical encyclopedia, in which the two memorialize - and fight over - Dank's treasured yet hackneyed body of work. As the reader is pulled along by the unbelievable antics of Dank, the raucous Boswell vs. Hirt backstory gradually comes into focus, and eventually subsumes the story altogether.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Cardboard Universe, The
  2. +
  3. Hurra, Ich Lebe Noch!

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Hurra, Ich Lebe Noch! av Ulrike Klingenberg (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 268 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Recensioner i media

"A delight ... a Day-Glo Pale Fire, and maybe the best pure comic novel of the year." -- The Believer, citing The Cardboard Universe as a finalist for The Believer Book Awards "Ingenious...In the vein of John Kennedy Toole, Swift, and Twain, it's a tall tale that touches on all manner of topics, from bizarre clothing to punk rock to insomnia...packed with literary allusion and commentary, along with splashes of mystery...a brilliant, deliriously wordy stab at reimagining and recasting fiction." -- Boston Globe "[A] pulp Pale Fire...hilarious...It's deranged metafiction at its most entertaining. -- Details "A Dickian feat of science-meta-fiction ... plenty of devastating laughs ... tragically funny and funnily tragic." -- The Wire (Portsmouth, NH) "Must reading for [Philip K.] Dick fans and anyone who enjoys a little irreverent fun at the expense of a literary world." -- Booklist "Miller's brilliant, hilarious The Cardboard Universe must be read immediately. Sentence by sentence, Miller proves himself a top-notch comedian, a master of invention, and a writer with a big heart." -- Deb Olin Unferth "The funniest novel I've read in years. Smart, clever, and utterly original...an instant classic that belongs on the same shelf as Catch-22, Portnoy's Complaint, and A Confederacy of Dunces...[with] mindblowing plot twists worthy of Philip K. Dick himself, merciless mockery of everything ridiculous about the literary life." -- Mark Jude Poirier, author of Goats and Modern Ranch Living, screenwriter of Smart People "Chris Miller's powers of invention seem infinite...one of the most original books I've read in a long time." -- Lynne Sharon Schwartz

Bloggat om Cardboard Universe, The

Övrig information

Christopher Miller is the author of the novels The Cardboard Universe, a Huffington Post Best Book of the Year and finalist for the Believer Book of the Year Award, and Sudden Noises from Inanimate Objects, a Seattle Times Best Book of the Year. He lives in Annapolis, Maryland.