The Miniaturist (häftad)
Format
Häftad (Trade Paper)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
560
Utgivningsdatum
2014-08-01
Förlag
HarperLuxe
Dimensioner
239 x 141 x 25 mm
Vikt
627 g
Antal komponenter
1
Komponenter
323:B&W 6 x 9 in or 229 x 152 mm Perfect Bound on 45lb Creme Groundwood w/Gloss Lam
ISBN
9780062326904
The Miniaturist (häftad)

The Miniaturist

Häftad Engelska, 2014-08-01
279
Skickas inom 5-8 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 3 format & utgåvor
Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam?a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion?a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant.

?There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . ."

On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office?leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.

But Nella's world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist?an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . .

Johannes' gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand?and fear?the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction?

Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Miniaturist
  2. +
  3. A Woman Intervenes, By Robert Barr, illustrated By Hal Hurst A NOVEL: Hal Hurst (1865-1938) was an English painter, etcher, miniaturist, illustrator a

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt A Woman Intervenes, By Robert Barr, illustrated... av Hal Hurst, Robert Barr (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 418 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Jessie Burton