One Half from the East (inbunden)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Inbunden (Hardback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
272
Utgivningsdatum
2016-10-06
Upplaga
International ed.
Förlag
HarperCollins
Dimensioner
216 x 145 x 20 mm
Vikt
363 g
Antal komponenter
1
ISBN
9780062421906
One Half from the East (inbunden)

One Half from the East

Inbunden Engelska, 2016-10-06
152
  • Specialorder (osäker tillgång). Skickas inom 11-20 vardagar.
  • Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Kan tyvärr inte längre levereras innan julafton.
Finns även som
Visa alla 2 format & utgåvor
Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi's first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh-a preteen girl dressed as a boy. Obayda's family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family luck-dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh. Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes. Their transformation won't last forever, though-unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure. Nadia Hashimi's first novel for adults, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, was a bestseller that shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. One Half from the East
  2. +
  3. The Sky at Our Feet

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt The Sky at Our Feet av Nadia Hashimi (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 237 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Nadia Hashimi

Recensioner i media

"Like its young protagonist, One Half from the East dances between hope and hard realities. Obayda's struggle to define herself in a world that is all too eager to do the job for her is captivating." -- Cassie Beasley, author of Circus Mirandus "Told in clear, vivid prose that combines detailed descriptions of daily life with a good dose of adventure, this story... This is an excellent title that will offer students a window into life in Afghanistan and open interesting, age-appropriate conversations about gender expectations and roles in different countries." -- School Library Journal (starred review) "By focusing on gender inequality as seen through the lens of a traditional society, Hashimi lets readers see themselves in Obayda's emotions, even as the outcomes remain true to the Afghan culture Hashimi portrays so fluently." -- The Horn Book "The first-person point of view in this novel will be impactful and meaningful to readers. Hashimi's Obayda will provide readers with insightful information about Islamic culture, and particularly the Afghani culture, as it relates to girls." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) "With beautiful language, rich characters, and a perspective not often seen in children's literature, this heartbreaking story will leave a lasting mark." -- Booklist

Övrig information

Nadia Hashimi was born and raised in New York and New Jersey. Both her parents were born in Afghanistan and left in the early 1970s, before the Soviet invasion. In 2002, Nadia made her first trip to Afghanistan with her parents. She is a pediatrician and lives with her family in the Washington, DC, suburbs. She is the author of three books for adults, as well as the middle grade novels One Half from the East and The Sky at Our Feet. Visit her online at www.nadiahashimi.com.