Allegedly (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
416
Utgivningsdatum
2018-05-17
Förlag
Katherine Tegen Books
Dimensioner
203 x 133 x 25 mm
Vikt
294 g
Antal komponenter
1
ISBN
9780062422651
Allegedly (häftad)

Allegedly

Häftad Engelska, 2018-05-17
109
Skickas inom 2-5 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige över 149 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 2 format & utgåvor
4 starred reviews! Orange Is the New Black meets Walter Dean Myer's Monster in this gritty, twisty, and haunting debut by Tiffany D. Jackson about a girl convicted of murder seeking the truth while surviving life in a group home. Mary B. Addison killed a baby. Allegedly. She didn't say much in that first interview with detectives, and the media filled in the only blanks that mattered: a white baby had died while under the care of a churchgoing black woman and her nine-year-old daughter. The public convicted Mary and the jury made it official. But did she do it? There wasn't a point to setting the record straight before, but now she's got Ted-and their unborn child-to think about. When the state threatens to take her baby, Mary's fate now lies in the hands of the one person she distrusts the most: her Momma. No one knows the real Momma. But does anyone know the real Mary?
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Allegedly
  2. +
  3. Monday's Not Coming

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Monday's Not Coming av Tiffany D Jackson (inbunden).

Köp båda 2 för 248 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Tiffany D Jackson

  • Monday's Not Coming

    Tiffany D Jackson

    From the critically acclaimed author of Allegedly, Tiffany D. Jackson, comes a gripping new novel perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Gillian Flynn about the mystery of one teenage girl's disappearance and the traumatic effects of the truth. Monda...

  • Let Me Hear a Rhyme

    Tiffany D Jackson

    In this striking new novel by the critically acclaimed author of Allegedly and Monday's Not Coming, Tiffany D. Jackson tells the story of three Brooklyn teens who plot to turn their murdered friend into a major rap star by pretending he's still al...

Recensioner i media

"With remarkable skill, Jackson offers an unflinching portrayal of the raw social outcomes when youth are entrapped in a vicious cycle of nonparenting and are sent spiraling down the prison-for-profit pipeline. This dark, suspenseful exploration of justice and perception raises important questions teens will want to discuss." -- School Library Journal <strong>(starred review)</strong> "Searing and true. Effectively joins Ava DuVernay's documentary 13th and Michelle Alexander's The New Jim Crow (2010) to become another indictment of the penal system's decimating power beyond its bars and, more subtly and refreshingly, a pro-reproductive-justice novel." -- Kirkus Reviews <strong>(starred review)</strong> "The characters are complex, the situation unsettling, and the line between right and wrong hopelessly blurred. It's also intensely relevant, addressing race, age, and mental illness within the criminal justice system. Well conceived and executed, this is an absorbing and exceptional first novel." -- Publishers Weekly <strong>(starred review)</strong> "Suspenseful without being emotionally manipulative, compelling without resorting to shock value, this is a tightly spun debut that wrestles with many intense ideas and ends with a knife twist that will send readers racing back to the beginning again." -- Booklist <strong>(starred review)</strong> "Seen through Jackson's dark portrait of the legal system and the failures of parents and social workers, Mary's environments are as grim as the stories that play out in them; readers fascinated by procedural dramas will be thoroughly hooked." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "I have to admit, it's been a while since I've been this rattled by a story. Tiffany D. Jackson chips at the world, then cracks it, then shatters it into shards of discomfort and complexity for the reader to grapple with it. Allegedly, undoubtedly, will linger long after it's over." -- Jason Reynolds, award-winning author of All American Boys and The Boy in the Black Suit "A well-executed, powerful journey into the claustrophobic life of a young girl trying to navigate what little is left after the world has judged her, and what she will do to escape it." -- Mindy McGinnis, Edgar Award-winning author of A Madness So Discreet "A riveting, gut-wrenching thriller and a stunning debut." -- Daniel Jose Older, New York Times bestselling author of Shadowshaper "Tiffany Jackson's timely and chilling debut will haunt you for a long time. An extraordinary new voice." -- Justine Larbalestier, author of Liar and My Sister Rosa

Bloggat om Allegedly

Övrig information

Tiffany D. Jackson is the author of Allegedly, Monday's Not Coming, and Let Me Hear a Rhyme. A TV professional by day, novelist by night, she received her bachelor of arts in film from Howard University and her master of arts in media studies from the New School. A Brooklyn native, she is a lover of naps, cookie dough, and beaches, currently residing in the borough she loves, most likely multitasking. You can visit her online at www.writeinbk.com.