Black Shack Alley (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
192
Utgivningsdatum
2020-08-27
Förlag
Penguin Classics
Översättare
Keith Q Warner
Medarbetare
Warner, Keith Q.
Dimensioner
196 x 130 x 20 mm
Vikt
204 g
Antal komponenter
1
ISBN
9780143133957
Black Shack Alley (häftad)

Black Shack Alley

Häftad Engelska, 2020-08-27
149
Skickas inom 5-8 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 2 format & utgåvor
Following in the tradition of Richard Wright's Black Boy, Joseph Zobel's semi-autobiographical 1950 novel Black Shack Alley chronicles the coming-of-age of Jose, a young boy grappling with his identity in colonial Martinique. As Jose transitions from childhood to young adulthood and from rural plantations to urban Fort-de-France on a quest for upward mobility, he bears witness to and struggles against the various manifestations of white supremacy, both subtle and overt, that will alter the course of his life. Zobel's masterpiece, the basis for the award-winning film Sugar Cane Alley, is a powerful testament to twentieth-century life in Martinique, with a foreword by award-winning Martinican author Patrick Chamoiseau.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Black Shack Alley
  2. +
  3. The Bastards

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt The Bastards av Bertene Juminer (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 468 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Joseph Zobel

  • Antique Vienna Bronzes

    Joseph Zobel

    Small bronze figures, made in Vienna, Austria, beginning around 1850, are well known for their great detail and expressiveness. They were produced in small factories and private artist studios in the forms of animals and humans, and were exported ...

Recensioner i media

Zobel relays Jose's pain and frustration in measured, matter-of-fact prose. This perfectly captures the education of an outsider in the shadow of colonization. --Publishers Weekly

Övrig information

Joseph Zobel was born in 1915 in Riviere-Salee, Martinique. His many works include the novel La rue cases-negres (translated as Black Shack Alley) and its continuation, La fete a Paris. A noted poet and a gifted sculptor, as well as an influential radio producer in Senegal, Zobel retired to a small village in 1974. He died in 2006.