The Ministry of Utmost Happiness (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
464
Utgivningsdatum
2018-04-30
Förlag
Penguin Books Ltd
Originalspråk
English
Dimensioner
195 x 131 x 29 mm
Vikt
336 g
Komponenter
,
ISBN
9780241980767
The Ministry of Utmost Happiness (häftad)

The Ministry of Utmost Happiness

Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017

Häftad Engelska, 2018-04-30
96
Skickas inom 7-10 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Kan levereras innan jul!
Finns även som
Visa alla 2 format & utgåvor
FROM THE BOOKER PRIZE WINNING AUTHOR OF THE GOD OF SMALL THINGS LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017 NOMINATED FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FOR FICTION LONGLISTED FOR THE CARNEGIE 2018 THE SUNDAY TIMES NUMBER ONE and THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 'At magic hour; when the sun has gone but the light has not, armies of flying foxes unhinge themselves from the Banyan trees in the old graveyard and drift across the city like smoke...' So begins The Ministry of Utmost Happiness, Arundhati Roy's incredible follow-up to The God of Small Things. We meet Anjum, who used to be Aftab, who runs a guest-house in an Old Delhi graveyard and gathers around her the lost, the broken and the cast out. We meet Tilo, an architect, who although she is loved by three men, lives in a 'country of her own skin' . When Tilo claims an abandoned baby as her own, her destiny and that of Anjum become entangled as a tale that sweeps across the years and a teeming continent takes flight... 'A sprawling kaleidoscopic fable' Guardian, Books of the Year 'Roy's second novel proves as remarkable as her first' Financial Times 'A great tempest of a novel... which will leave you awed by the heat of its anger and the depth of its compassion' Washington Post
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
  2. +
  3. My Seditious Heart

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt My Seditious Heart av Arundhati Roy (inbunden).

Köp båda 2 för 375 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Arundhati Roy

Recensioner i media

A passionate political masterpiece * Times Literary Supplement * Compelling, musical, cinematic... [A] genuine poignancy and depth of emotion. Her gift is for the personal: for poetic description [and an] ability to map the complicated arithmetic of love and belonging . . . The Ministry of Utmost Happiness manages to extract hope from tragedies * The New York Times * The follow-up we've been longing for - a poetic, densely populated contemporary novel in the tradition of Dickens and Tolstoy. From its beginning, one is swept up in the story... With her exquisite and dynamic storytelling, Roy balances scenes of suffering and corruption with humour and transcendence * Vogue * A sprawling, kaleidoscopic fable about love and resistance in modern India * The Guardian * A kaleidoscopic story about the struggle for Kashmir's independence * Washington Post * Fantastic. The novel is unflinchingly critical of power, and yet she empowers her underdog characters to persevere, leaving readers with a few droplets of much-needed hope. It's heartening when writers live up to the hyperbole that surrounds them * Hirsh Sawhney * A beautiful and grotesque portrait of modern India and the world beyond. Take your time over it, just as the author did * Good Housekeeping * Teems with human drama, contains a vivid cast of characters and offers an evocative, searing portrait of modern India * Tatler * Heartfelt, poetic, intimate, laced with ironic humour...The intensity of Roy's writing - the sheer amount she cares about these people - compels you to concentrate...This is the novel one hoped Arundhati Roy would write about India * Daily Telegraph * The Ministry of Utmost Happiness confirms Roy's status as a writer of delicate human dramas that also touch on some of the largest questions of the day. It is the novel as intimate epic. Expect to see it on every prize shortlist this year * The Times * Roy's second novel proves as remarkable as her first * Financial Times * She is back with a heavyweight state-of-the-nation story that has been ten years in the making * Daily Mail *

Övrig information

Arundhati Roy is the author of The God of Small Things, which won the Booker Prize in 1997 and has been translated into more than forty languages, and The Ministry of Utmost Happiness, which was long-listed for the Man Booker Prize 2017. Roy has also published several works of non-fiction, including The Algebra of Infinite Justice, Listening to Grasshoppers and Broken Republic. She lives in Delhi.