A Matter of Faith (inbunden)
Inbunden (Hardback)
Antal sidor
Winner of Choice Outstanding Academic Book, 1997 1996 (United States)
Praeger Publishers Inc
index bibliography
bibliography, index
247 x 165 x 19 mm
430 g
Antal komponenter
1 Hardback
A Matter of Faith (inbunden)

A Matter of Faith

The Fiction of Brian Moore

Inbunden Engelska, 1996-07-01
Skickas inom 10-15 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige för privatpersoner.
This is the most extensive account of Moore's fiction to date that considers his many works from the early stories to the recent novel, No Other Life. Moore, who was born in Ireland but is a Canadian citizen and resides predominantly in the United States, has earned an international reputation as an important novelist. This book sets out to demonstrate a discernible pattern of concerns that cut across Moore's fictive output over the last 40 years. It argues that the concerns of love and faith (and the interplay between them) form the backbone of Moore's oeuvre. Sullivan draws from interviews with Moore and presents a study that convincingly demonstrates how Moore's fictions, from first to last, take their place in a larger thematic and formal masternarrative.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. A Matter of Faith
  2. +
  3. Dictionary of Italian Literature, 2nd Edition

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Dictionary of Italian Literature, 2nd Edition av Peter E Bondanella, Jody Robin Shiffman, Julia Conaway Bondanella (inbunden).

Köp båda 2 för 3018 kr


Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Recensioner i media

"Sullivan offers the most useful single-volume study to date of the 19 novels produced by Moore over the last 40 years. . . . Sullivan's effort admirably distills Moore's technique and worth. . . . All academic collections." - Choice

Bloggat om A Matter of Faith

Övrig information

Robert Sullivan is a native of Belfast, Northern Ireland. He attended universities in England and earned a PhD from Brown University, where he is currently a visiting assistant professor. Sullivan has also taught in Africa and at universities in the United States. He is author of Christopher Caudwell.


Preface Acknowledgments Chronological List of Novels Introduction: A Matter of Faith Belfast: The Insular World The Climate of Ulster The Three Early Novels The Doctor's Wife Lies of Silence Forms of Self-Regard: The Irish-Americans Bridge to the New World: The Luck of Ginger Coffey An Answer From Limbo I Am Mary Dunne Fergus The Mangan Inheritance The Temptation of Giant Despair The Temptation of Eileen Hughes Cold Heaven Catholics The Color of Blood Black Robe Moore's Masterplot: The Great Victorian Collection The Novel as a Theory of Representation The Novel as a Philosophy of Form Selected Bibliography Index