Tars (häftad)
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
400
Utgivningsdatum
2008-06-01
Förlag
Hodder Paperback
Illustratör/Fotograf
2X8pp colour sections and b, w integrated illustrations
Illustrationer
2 x 8pp colour sections and b/w integrated illustrations
Dimensioner
198 x 129 x 29 mm
Vikt
311 g
ISBN
9780340898031
Tars (häftad)

Tars

Life in the Royal Navy during the Seven Years War

Häftad Engelska, 2008-06-01
129
Specialorder (osäker tillgång). Skickas inom 11-20 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
TARS is a gripping firsthand account of life in the Royal Navy at its bloodiest and most temptestuous phase, beginning in 1758. Through the lives of the main protagonists - a small band of sailors from across the ranks - TRAFALGAR author Tim Clayton paints a vivid picture of the navy and the era, from close-quarter battles and roistering on the streets of London to the political decisions that built up and knocked down empires. In this death-or-glory era the navy became the main weapon of an aggressive and power-hungry government, and fighting at sea was carried out at ever-closer quarters and with ever-increasing amounts of firepower. Using never-before published first-person sources, TARS takes us through these men's daily struggles as Britain navigated her course on the political map.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Tars
  2. +
  3. Trafalgar

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Trafalgar av Tim Clayton, Phil Craig (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 318 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Recensioner i media

Vivid and compelling . . . an account of significant importance. * <i>Naval Review</I> on TRAFALGAR * A landmark book. * <i>Observer</I> on TRAFALGAR * Excellent . . . comprehensively researched, vividly written and judiciously argued. Wonderfully detailed pen portraits . . . Much new material from French and Spanish sources gives a rounded picture . . . it is this perspective from both sides of the battle that makes the book so compelling. * Saul David, <i>Daily Telegraph</I> on TRAFALGAR * 'Ideal for fans of Patrick O'Brien' * <i>Bookseller</I> * engaging and original, Tars is an impressive book that deserves a wide readership. * <i>International Journal of Maritime History</i> * Accessible, well researched, and a true literary masterpiece. * Mountbatten Maritime Award *

Bloggat om Tars

Övrig information

Tim Clayton has written extensively on nineteenth and twentieth-century cultural history.