Jamaica Inn (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
320
Utgivningsdatum
2015-07-16
Förlag
Virago Press Ltd
Dimensioner
198 x 127 x 21 mm
Vikt
254 g
ISBN
9780349006581
Jamaica Inn (häftad)

Jamaica Inn

Häftad Engelska, 2015-07-16
79
Skickas inom 2-5 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige över 149 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 7 format & utgåvor
In the bitter November wind, Mary Yellan crosses Bodmin Moor to Jamaica Inn. Her mother's dying wish was that she take refuge there, with her Aunt Patience. But when Mary arrives, the warning of the coachman echoes in her mind: Jamaica Inn has a desolate power, and behind it's crumbling walls Patience is a changed woman, cowering before her brooding, violent husband. When Mary discovers the inn's dark secrets, the truth is more terrifying than anything she could possibly imagine, and she is forced to collude in her uncle's murderous schemes. Against her will, she finds herself powerfully attracted to her uncle's brother, a man she dares not trust.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Jamaica Inn
  2. +
  3. The Scapegoat

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt The Scapegoat av Daphne Du Maurier (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 188 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Recensioner i media

Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner * The Times * A dark tale. A brilliant thriller * Daily Express * A perfect fusion of gothic romance and a young woman's rite of passage in the vein of Twilight and Wuthering Heights -- Emma Frost * Independent * A perfect fusion of gothic romance and a young woman's rite of passage in the vein of Twilight and Wuthering Heights * Independent * A dark tale. A brilliant thriller * Daily Express * Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner * The Times * Jamaica Inn is perhaps the most accomplished historical romance ever written * Good Book Guide * A true classic * Amazon.com * Daphne du Maurier has no equal * Sunday Telegraph *

Bloggat om Jamaica Inn

Övrig information

Daphne du Maurier (1907-89) was born in London, the daughter of the famous actor-manager Sir Gerald du Maurier and granddaughter of George du Maurier, the author and artist. In 1931 her first novel, The Loving Spirit, was published. A biography of her father and three other novels followed, but it was the novel Rebecca that launched her into the literary stratosphere and made her one of the most popular authors of her day. In 1932, du Maurier married Major Frederick Browning, with whom she had three children. Many of du Maurier's bestselling novels and short stories were adapted into award-winning films, including Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds and Nicolas Roeg's Don't Look Now. In 1969 du Maurier was awarded a DBE. She lived most of her life in Cornwall, the setting for many of her books.