The Sisters of the Winter Wood (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
480
Utgivningsdatum
2019-06-20
Förlag
Orbit
Dimensioner
198 x 126 x 28 mm
Vikt
320 g
ISBN
9780356511450
The Sisters of the Winter Wood (häftad)

The Sisters of the Winter Wood

The spellbinding fairy tale fantasy of the year

(1 röst)
Häftad Engelska, 2019-06-20
113
  • Skickas inom 10-15 vardagar.
  • Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Kan levereras innan julafton!
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
'LUSCIOUS AND HYPNOTIC . . . A gripping, powerful story of family, sisterhood. I gulped it down! - Madeline Miller, author of Song of Achilles and Circe 'An incredible achievement - a rich literary fairy tale' Robert Dinsdale, author of The Toymakers Every family has a secret . . . and every secret tells a story. In a remote village surrounded by forests on the border of Moldova and Ukraine, sisters Liba and Laya have been raised on the honeyed scent of their Mami's babka and the low rumble of their Tati's prayers. But when a troupe of mysterious men arrives, Laya falls under their spell - despite their mother's warning to be wary of strangers. And this is not the only danger lurking in the woods. As dark forces close in on their small village, Liba and Laya discover a family secret passed down through generations. Faced with a magical heritage they never knew existed, the sisters realise the old fairy tales are true . . . and could save them all. Captivating and boldly imaginative, Rena Rossner's debut invites you to enter a magical world of secrets, family ties and fairy tales weaving through history. Perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale, Uprooted and The Night Circus. 'A graceful, poetic, deeply moving novel . . . a simply gorgeous book in every sense' Louisa Morgan 'The kind of book that Neil Gaiman and Naomi Novik might have cooked up together' Robert Dinsdale 'A stunning tapestry of a story unlike anything I've ever read. Laya and Liba are going to stick with me for a long, long time' Sara Holland, author of Everless 'An elegant tapestry of the love between sisters, the value of faith and family, and knowing one's true friends in times of peril' J. Kathleen Cheney 'Full of heart, history and enchantment' Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Sisters of the Winter Wood
  2. +
  3. The Queen of Nothing (The Folk of the Air #3)

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt The Queen of Nothing (The Folk of the Air #3) av Holly Black (inbunden).

Köp båda 2 för 290 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Rena Rossner

Recensioner i media

With luscious and hypnotic prose, Rena Rossner tells a gripping, powerful story of family, sisterhood, and two young women trying to find their way in the world. I gulped it down! -- Madeline Miller, award-winning author of SONG OF ACHILLES and CIRCE Rena Rossner weaves together fairytales with a strong current of faith to create a stunning tapestry of a story unlike anything I've ever read. Laya and Liba are going to stick with me for a long, long time * Sara Holland, author of EVERLESS * An incredible achievement - a rich literary fairytale . . . The kind of book that Neil Gaiman and Naomi Novik might have cooked up together, it's far too easy to get lost in the forests between the pages and disappear for days on end -- Robert Dinsdale, author of THE TOYMAKERS Mixes fairy tale, poetry, history, and heart to create an enchanting and mesmerizing tale of sisterly love. I adored this book! -- Sarah Beth Durst, award-winning author of The Queens of Renthia series A graceful, poetic, deeply moving novel . . . a simply gorgeous book in every sense -- Louisa Morgan, author of A SECRET HISTORY OF WITCHES [An] intricately crafted, gorgeously rendered debut . . . Full of heart, history, and enchantment * PUBLISHERS WEEKLY (starred review) * [A] fantastical coming-of-age story [for] fans of Naomi Novik's Spinning Silver and Katherine Arden's The Bear and the Nightingale * BOOKLIST * Rossner weaves an elegant tapestry of the love between sisters, the value of faith and family, and knowing one's true friends in times of peril * J. Kathleen Cheney * This dark fairy tale about sisterly love and Jewish strength and courage, set against the backdrop of a deep and deadly winter forest, will haunt me for a long time. A powerful, emotional debut * Julie C. Dao, author of FOREST OF A THOUSAND LANTERNS * An enthralling debut * Lavie Tidhar, World Fantasy Award-winning author * Fairy tales, folklore, and poetry make an intoxicating brew in The Sisters of the Winter Wood, a luminous debut by an exciting new talent * Ilana C. Myer * THE SISTERS OF THE WINTER WOOD is a deeply moving story of sisterly love, steeped in the rich tradition of Jewish folklore. Atmospheric and enchanting, it's sure to delight fans of Naomi Novik's Uprooted * Lana Popovic, author of WICKED LIKE WILDFIRE * Rossner's debut weaves a richly detailed story of Jewish identity and sisterhood . . . Ambitious and surprising * KIRKUS * A vivid, fascinating, excellently drawn story of the fragility of peace and the resilience of love that reaches back into history,out into folklore, and forward into the present * Pamela Dean * Inspired by historical events in the Ukraine/Moldova borderland of the author's ancestors, this debut novel blends weighty themes - intercultural tensions, family feuds - with Russian and Jewish shapeshifting folklore. The result is a story that's both charming and chilling * SFX * A beautiful tale of sisterly love and Jewish identity [with] haunting, otherworldly allure * BOOKPAGE *

Övrig information

Rena Rossner hails from Miami Beach, Florida. She is a graduate of the Johns Hopkins University Writing Seminars Program, she studied at Trinity College, Dublin and holds an MA in history from McGill University in Montreal, Canada. Her debut novel, The Sisters of the Winter Wood was listed as 'One of the 100 Best Books' of the year by Publishers Weekly. She currently lives in Israel with her husband, five children and a pug, where she works as a literary agent at the Deborah Harris Literary Agency. Her grandparents and great grandparents are from Russia, Ukraine, Moldova, Hungary and Romania. Their stories inspire her work.