A Close Run Thing (The Matthew Hervey Adventures: 1) (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
528
Utgivningsdatum
2000-03-01
Upplaga
New ed
Förlag
Bantam Books (Transworld Publishers a division of the Random House Group)
Illustrationer
map
Dimensioner
210 x 135 x 20 mm
Vikt
260 g
ISBN
9780553507133
A Close Run Thing (The Matthew Hervey Adventures: 1) (häftad)

A Close Run Thing (The Matthew Hervey Adventures: 1)

A high-octane and fast-paced military action adventure guaranteed to have you gripped!

Häftad Engelska, 2000-03-01
129
  • Skickas inom 5-8 vardagar.
  • Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
From the Sunday Times bestselling author Allan Mallinson, a riveting read with the perfect combination of hero, history and adventure - perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian and Bernard Cornwell. "Convincingly drawn, perfectly paced and expertly written...A Joy to read" - Antony Beevor. "I can't wait to read the next in the series..." - ***** Reader review. "A captivating read..."- ***** Reader review. "Allan Mallinson is a truly gifted storyteller..."- ***** Reader review. ************************************************************************* Waterloo 1815. The war against Napoleon Bonaparte is raging to its bloody end at Waterloo. A young officer - Cornet Matthew Hervey - going about his duty suddenly finds himself at the crux of events. The decisions he has to make - both military and romantic - will change the course of his life, and possible have far reaching political consequences... A Close Run Thing is the first book in Allan Mallinson's Matthew Hervey series. His adventures continue in The Nizam's Daughters.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. A Close Run Thing (The Matthew Hervey Adventures: 1)
  2. +
  3. First Thrills

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt First Thrills av Lee Child (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 258 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Allan Mallinson

Recensioner i media

'Now at last a highly literate, deeply read cavalry officer of high rank shows one the nature of horse-borne warfare in those times: and Colonel Mallinson's A Close Run Thing is very much to be welcomed.' * Patrick O'Brian * 'As astonishingly impressive debut...Convincingly drawn, perfectly paced and expertly written...A joy to read' -- Antony Beevor 'The scope of A Close Run Thing is quite breathtaking...A sustained piece of bravura writing' * Observer * 'The account of the Battle of Waterloo is an imaginative feat of high order, owing as much as to thorough scholarship as it does to compassion and sensibility. Brilliantly conveyed.' * Daily Telegraph * 'Allan Mallinson's grasp of the technical side of his subject is effortless and impressive...The portrayal of the men of all ranks is excellent. * Spectator *

Övrig information

A professional solder for thirty-five years, Allan Mallinson began writing while still serving. His first book was a history of four regiments of British light dragoons, one of which he commanded. His debut novel was the bestselling A Close Run Thing, the first in an acclaimed series chronicling the life of a fictitious cavalry officer before and after Waterloo (The Tigress of Mysore is the fourteenth in the series). His The Making of the British Army was shortlisted for a number of prizes, while 1914: Fight the Good Fight won the British Army's 'Book of the Year' Award. Its sequel, Too Important for the Generals, is a provocative look at leadership during the Great War, while Fight to the Finish is a comprehensive history of the First World War, month by month. Allan Mallinson reviews for the Spectator and the TLS and also writes for The Times. He lives on Salisbury Plain.