The House of Government (inbunden)
Format
Inbunden (Hardback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
1128
Utgivningsdatum
2017-07-28
Utmärkelser
Winner of PROSE Award in World History, Association of American Publishers 2018; Short-listed for Economist.com "Wise Words 2017 Books of the Year" in History 2017; Commended for "New Y
Förlag
Princeton University Press
Originalspråk
English
Illustratör/Fotograf
2 maps 416 halftones
Illustrationer
416 b/w illus. 2 maps.
Dimensioner
247 x 158 x 50 mm
Vikt
1524 g
Antal komponenter
1
Komponenter
,
ISBN
9780691176949
The House of Government (inbunden)

The House of Government

A Saga of the Russian Revolution

Inbunden Engelska, 2017-07-28
310
Skickas inom 3-6 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 3 format & utgåvor
On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union. Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 505 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The House of Government
  2. +
  3. The Jewish Century

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt The Jewish Century av Yuri Slezkine (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 623 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Recensioner i media

"Mammoth and profusely researched... A work begging to be debated; Slezkine aggregates mountains of detail for an enthralling account of the rise and fall of the revolutionary generation."--Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

Bloggat om The House of Government

Övrig information

Yuri Slezkine is the Jane K. Sather Professor of History at the University of California, Berkeley. His books include The Jewish Century (Princeton), which won the National Jewish Book Award.

Innehållsförteckning

Preface xi Acknowledgments xvii 1 En Route I Anticipation 3 1 The Swamp 5 2 The Preachers 23 3 The Faith 73 II Fulfillment 119 4 The Real Day 121 5 The Last Battle 158 6 The New City 180 7 The Great Disappointment 220 8 The Party Line 272 2 At Home III The Second Coming 315 9 The Eternal House 317 10 The New Tenants 377 11 The Economic Foundations 408 12 The Virgin Lands 421 13 The Ideological Substance 454 IV The Reign of the Saints 479 14 The New Life 481 15 The Days Off 508 16 The Houses of Rest 535 17 The Next of Kin 552 18 The Center of the World 582 19 The Pettiness of Existence 610 20 The Thought of Death 623 21 The Happy Childhood 645 22 The New Men 665 3 On Trial V The Last Judgment 697 23 The Telephone Call 699 24 The Admission of Guilt 715 25 The Valley of the Dead 753 26 The Knock on the Door 773 27 The Good People 813 28 The Supreme Penalty 840 VI The Afterlife 871 29 The End of Childhood 873 30 The Persistence of Happiness 887 31 The Coming of War 912 32 The Return 924 33 The End 946 Epilogue: The House on the Embankment 961 Appendix: Partial List of Leaseholders 983 Notes 995 Index 1083