Protestant Nonoonformist Texts: v. 1 (inbunden)
Inbunden (Hardback)
Antal sidor
Ashgate Publishing Limited
v. 1
234 x 158 x 25 mm
780 g
Protestant Nonoonformist Texts: v. 1 (inbunden)

Protestant Nonoonformist Texts: v. 1

1550 to 1700

Inbunden Engelska, 2007-10-01


This is the first book in a series of four substantial volumes designed to demonstrate the range of interests of the several Protestant Nonconformist traditions from the time of their Separatist harbingers in the sixteenth century to the end of the twentieth century. It represents a major project of the Association of Denominational Historical Societies and Cognate Libraries. Each volume comprises a General Introduction followed by texts illustrative of such topics as theology, philosophy, worship, socio-political concerns, and so on. This work has never before been drawn together for publication in this way. Prepared by a team of twelve editors, all of whom are expert in their areas and drawn from a number of the relevant traditions, it provides a much-needed comprehensive view of Nonconformity told largely in the words of those whose story it is. The works will prove to be an invaluable resource to scholars, students, academics and specialist and public libraries, as well as to a wider range of church, intellectual and general historians. Like the other volumes in the four-volume series of which it is a part, this book breaks new ground in gathering and introducing texts relating to the origins of English and Welsh Dissent. Through contemporary writings it provides a lively insight into the life and thought of early Presbyterians, Congregationalists, Baptists and Quakers, as well as of smaller groups no longer extant.
Visa hela texten


Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Övrig information

The late Revd R Tudur Jones was formerly Principal and a Professor at Bangor University, Wales.


General editor's preface; Preface; Introduction. Part I The Beginnings, 1550 - 1603; Part II Perseverance, 1604 - 1642; Part III Facets of Freedom, 1640 - 1660; Part IV Persecution, 1660 - 1689; Part V Aspects of Nonconformist Experience; Part VI A Theological Miscellany; Part VII Poetry; Part VIII The Dawn of Toleration. Select bibliography; Index.