Shades of Milk and Honey (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
304
Utgivningsdatum
2011-06-29
Förlag
Tor Books
Dimensioner
209 x 142 x 22 mm
Vikt
281 g
Antal komponenter
1
ISBN
9780765325600
Shades of Milk and Honey (häftad)

Shades of Milk and Honey

Häftad Engelska, 2011-06-29
189
  • Skickas inom 10-15 vardagar.
  • Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 4 format & utgåvor
This is a fantasy novel you wish Jane Austen had written. "Shades of Milk and Honey" is an intimate portrait of Jane Ellsworth of Dorchester, a woman ahead of her time in a version of Regency England where the manipulation of glamour is considered an essential skill for a lady of quality. Despite the prevalence of magic in everyday life, other aspects of Dorchester's society are not that different: Jane and her sister Melody's lives still revolve around vying for the attentions of eligible men. While Jane's skill with glamour is remarkable, it is her sister who is fair of face, and therefore wins the lion's share of the attention. At the ripe old age of twenty-eight, Jane has resigned herself to being invisible forever. But when her family's honour is threatened, she finds that she must push her skills to the limit in order to set things right - and, in the process, accidentally wanders into a love story of her own.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Shades of Milk and Honey
  2. +
  3. Valour And Vanity

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Valour And Vanity av Mary Robinette Kowal (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 418 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Mary Robinette Kowal

Recensioner i media

<p>"If Jane Austen had written a fantasy novel, Shades of Milk and Honey would have been the result. Written with painstaking attention to detail, Kowal's prose is serenely evocative of the time period, and the fantastic elements are a seamless fit. The characterization is extremely well done and Jane is a sympathetic, strong and intelligent heroine whose devotion to her family trumps nearly every other concern. Give this one a try!" --"RT Book Reviews," 4 1/2 stars, Top Pick! <p>"Readers will be disappointed only when they finish this enchanting story, which is suffused with genteel charm... With the grace of "Sense and Sensibility," a touch of classic fairy tale magic, and an action-packed ending, this debut novel by an award-winning fantasy short story writer will appeal to fans of Jane Austen, Jane Yolen, Patricia Wrede, Susannah Clarke, and even Jasper Fforde." --"Library Journal" <p>"Cliche as it might sound, if Jane Austen had sat down to pen a fantasy, this is the book she would have written. The tone, the cadence, the sweep, every bow and curtsey of the language is woven into "Shades of Milk and Honey.".. Kowal's mastery is the art of the Austenite nuance... When I reached the last page I just wanted to start it all over again. It left me craving nothing but a cup of Constant Comment...and the sequel." --"Intergalactic Medicine Show"<p>"" <p>"A beautiful, lyrical, tightly-woven meld of Jane Austen, "Jane Eyre," and "Beauty and the Beast"--I couldn't put it down!" --Lilith Saintcrow <p>"Simply enchanting, and another great advance in an already impressive literary career. You're going to love this." --John Scalzi <p>"Shades of Milk and Honey is a lovely, smart, strange novel with everything on earth (and elsewhere) to recommend it. Smoothly crafted with a flair for romance and mystery, this story is one part meticulous manners and one part wild magic -- composing a whole that's utterly irresistible." --Cherie Priest<p>"Kowal's first novel is a be

Övrig information

<p>Mary Robinette Kowal was the 2008 recipient of the Campbell Award for Best New Writer and a Hugo nominee for her story "Evil Robot Monkey." Her short fiction has appeared in Strange Horizons, Asimov's, and several Year's Best anthologies. Mary is an active member of Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America and currently serves on the Board of Directors. <p>A professional puppeteer and voice actor, she grew up in North Carolina and spent five years touring nationally with puppet theaters. She wrote "Shades of Milk and Honey" while living in Iceland and performing on the hit television show "Lazytown." Mary currently lives in Portland, OR with her husband Rob and nine manual typewriters.