Glamour in Glass (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
336
Utgivningsdatum
2013-02-01
Förlag
Tor Books
Dimensioner
211 x 137 x 20 mm
Vikt
409 g
Antal komponenter
1
Komponenter
401:B&W 5.5 x 8.5 in or 216 x 140 mm (Demy 8vo) Perfect Bound on Creme w/Matte Lam
ISBN
9780765325617
Glamour in Glass (häftad)

Glamour in Glass

Häftad Engelska, 2013-02-01
229
  • Skickas inom 10-15 vardagar.
  • Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 3 format & utgåvor
Mary Robinette Kowal stunned readers with her charming first novel "Shades of Milk and Honey", a loving tribute to the works of Jane Austen in a world where magic is an everyday occurrence. This magic comes in the form of glamour, which allows talented users to form practically any illusion they can imagine. Shades debuted to great acclaim and left readers eagerly awaiting its sequel. "Glamour in Glass" follows the lives of beloved main characters Jane and Vincent, with a much deeper vein of drama and intrigue. In the tumultuous months after Napoleon abdicates his throne, Jane and Vincent go to Belgium for their honeymoon. While there, the deposed emperor escapes his exile in Elba, throwing the continent into turmoil. With no easy way back to England, Jane and Vincent's concerns turn from enjoying their honeymoon...to escaping it. Left with no outward salvation, Jane must persevere over her trying personal circumstances and use her glamour to rescue her husband from prison...and hopefully prevent her newly built marriage from getting stranded on the shoals of another country's war.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Glamour in Glass
  2. +
  3. Valour And Vanity

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Valour And Vanity av Mary Robinette Kowal (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 458 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Mary Robinette Kowal

Recensioner i media

"The setting and the intricate techniques of glamour manipulation continue to intrigue, and the thoughtful portrayal of the difficulties of Jane and Vincent's affectionately nontraditional partnership is thoroughly engaging."--"Publishers Weekly ""This is a wonderful book. Kowal has taken such care grounding her story in the time and place in which it's set that the addition of magic is truly seamless. Jane is a superb heroine."--"RT Book Reviews ""Prepare to settle in and snuggle up in your comfiest chair; once you start reading, you won't want to stop."--"Library Journal "Praise for "Shades of Milk and Honey "2010 Nebula Nominee for Best Novel * SF Chronicle's Top 10 SF/F of 2010 * RT Reviewer's Choice Award for Best Fantasy Novel 2010 "Will appeal to fans of Jane Austen, Jane Yolen, Patricia Wrede, Susanna Clarke, and even Jasper Fforde."--"Library Journal" on "Shades of Milk and Honey ""Kowal sets her own mark on this kind of comedy of manners and creates a low-key and witty debut novel, one that succeeds through understated humor and sprightly prose, rather than through absurd juxtapositions of the historical and the supernatural."--"San Francisco Chronicle """Shades of Milk and Honey" could easily fit into Austen's canon, except of course for the inclusion of magic. Kowal has captured both the style and content of an Austen novel, adding her own speculative fiction twist...hits all the high points of Austen's dialogue and plotting while still having its own identity."--The Jane Austen Center "If Jane Austen had written a fantasy novel, [this] would have been the result. Written with painstaking attention to detail, Kowal's prose is serenely evocative of the time period, and the fantastic elements are a seamless fit. The characterization is extremely well done and Jane is a sympathetic, strong and intelligent heroine whose devotion to her family trumps nearly every other concern.

Övrig information

MARY ROBINETTE KOWAL was the 2008 recipient of the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer and a Hugo winner for her story "For Want of a Nail." Her short fiction has appeared in "Strange Horizons, Asimov's, "and several Year's Best anthologies. She also writes the Glamourist History series, which began with "Shades of Milk and Honey." A professional puppeteer and voice actor, she spent five years touring nationally with puppet theaters. She lives in Chicago with her husband Rob and many manual typewriters.