Darkened Rooms of Summer (häftad)
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
220
Utgivningsdatum
2014-02-28
Förlag
University of Nebraska Press
Medarbetare
Kooser, Ted (introd.)/Kooser, Ted (foreword)
Illustrationer
black & white illustrations
Dimensioner
234 x 152 x 13 mm
Vikt
294 g
Antal komponenter
1
Komponenter
2:B&W 6 x 9 in or 229 x 152 mm Perfect Bound on Creme w/Gloss Lam
ISBN
9780803248571
Darkened Rooms of Summer (häftad)

Darkened Rooms of Summer

New and Selected Poems

Häftad Engelska, 2014-02-28
219
Skickas inom 5-8 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige för privatpersoner.
Boken kan tyvärr inte levereras innan julafton.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
For nearly half a century Jared Carter has been quietly mapping the American heartland. Line by line, his poetry has shown us the landscape, sounded the voices, conjured the music, and tested the silence of the ever-changing and yet ever-constant Midwest that figures so prominently in the American story. And yet what we find in Carter's poetry is endlessly new. Here, in poems selected from his first five books, is the summer-long buzz of the cicada and the crack of the cue ball, the young rebel on his big Harley, and the YMCA secretary who backstrokes her way across the indoor pool. Here, too, are thirty new poems in fixed form that illustrate Carter's continued quest for a poetry of "universal interest." Taken together, these selections are, truly, poetry in the American grain.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Darkened Rooms of Summer
  2. +
  3. No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference av Greta Thunberg (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 258 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Jared Carter

Recensioner i media

"Jared Carter's poetry is pure, home-spun Americana, full of small-town people and places in the tradition of Edgar Lee Masters and Sherwood Anderson."-Portland Book Review * Portland Book Review * "Those of us who practice the craft of poetry will want to keep Darkened Rooms of Summer close at hand, so we can study these poems, and wonder how Jared Carter ushers us so seamlessly into his world, and thus, more deeply into our own."-James Crews, basalt -- James Crews * basalt * "Jared Carter writes the kind of poetry that death does not touch. He brings us a very different atmosphere from this crazy techie world, with a command of metaphor and the bones of memory that do not lie. We trust this poet's vision."-Grace Cavalieri, danmurano.com -- Grace Cavalieri * danmurano.com * "[Jared Carter] is the rare poet who is rooted in a certain place, which is of course Indiana, yet [he] deals with it in such a way that it is of universal interest."-Dana Gioia, former chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts -- Dana Gioia "[Carter] writes American poetry the way that William Faulkner wrote American novels. . . . [Carter's poems] have the homespun flavor of our native music-ballads, country blues, and sweet, clear, understated lyrics."-Sally A. Lodge, Publishers Weekly -- Sally A. Lodge * Publishers Weekly * "Carter's is a poetry of a resolute middle distance, firmly of this world: between the dust under the earth and the dust of space there exists the place that the poem can illumine."-Helen Vendler, New York Review of Books -- Helen Vendler * New York Review of Books *

Bloggat om Darkened Rooms of Summer

Övrig information

Jared Carter lives in Indiana. He has received the Walt Whitman Award of the Academy of American Poets, the Poets' Prize, a fellowship from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, and two literary fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Innehållsförteckning

AcknowledgmentsIntroduction by Ted Kooser From Work, for the Night Is Coming / 1981GeodesEarly WarningThe MadhouseFor Jack ChathamWalking the TiesGlacierMississinewa County RoadThe UndertakerThe Oddfellows' Waiting-Room at Glencove CemeteryMonument CityWork, for the Night Is ComingAt the Sign-Painter'sTurning the BrickLanding the BeesThe MeasuringGinsengShaking the PeoniesBirdstone From After the Rain / 1993After the RainPhoenixScryerThe GleaningThe ShrivingThe Purpose of PoetryMississinewa Reservoir at Winter PoolPoem Written on a Line from the Walam OlumFoundlingCicadasBarn SidingInterviewDrawing the AntiqueFor an Old FlamePortrait StudioCecropia MothFor Starr Atkinson, Who Designed BooksSeed StormGalleynipperChangelingMourning DovesThe BelieversFrom Les Barricades Mysterieuses / 1999ImprovisationSummonsCandleBerceuseCemeteryInterludeFordMillefioriClavichordTankroomPhosphorescencePalimpsestLabyrinthLinenRepriseHawkmothComet From Cross this Bridge at a Walk / 2006Covered BridgeVisitRecollections of a Contingent of Coxey's Army Passing through Straughan, Indiana, in April of 1894SpireaPicking Stone From A Dance in the Street / 2012Prophet TownshipRoadside CrossesSummitFire Burning in a 55-Gallon DrumIn the Warehouse DistrictIn the Military ParkThe Pool at NoonPlastic SackHidden DoorWind EggWhat Is Dream?SphinxWarAt the Art InstituteUp in MichiganBlank PaperUnder the Snowball BushMourning Dove AscendingCicadas in the RainSnow New PoemsCloudsSchoolhouseDryadAwakeningHomesteadGoneWebEtruriaBoleynVowCross-harpTorcAriadnePoetryPerseusTwilightQuestionPolyxenaGraveyardAchillesMourningPhiloctetesAdulteryArmorPriestessMothJourneymanVisitorPrescriptionEvergreen