The Tale of Halcyon Crane (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
352
Utgivningsdatum
2010-04-20
Förlag
Henry Holt & Company Inc
Dimensioner
203 x 133 x 31 mm
Vikt
294 g
Antal komponenter
1
ISBN
9780805091403
The Tale of Halcyon Crane (häftad)

The Tale of Halcyon Crane

Häftad Engelska, 2010-04-20
209
Skickas inom 7-10 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
When a mysterious letter lands in Hallie James' mailbox, her life is upended. Hallie was raised by her loving father, having been told her mother died in a fire decades earlier. But it turns out that her mother, Madlyn, was alive until very recently. Why would Hallie's father have taken her away from Madlyn? What really happened to her family thirty years ago? In search of answers, Hallie travels to the place where her mother lived, a remote island in the middle of the Great Lakes. The stiff islanders fix her first with icy stares and then unabashed amazement as they recognize why she looks so familiar, and Hallie quickly realizes her family's dark secrets are enmeshed in the history of this strange place. But not everyone greets her with such a chilly reception - a coffee-shop owner and the family's lawyer both warm to Hallie, and the possibility of romance blooms. And then there's the grand Victorian house bequeathed to her - maybe it's the eerie atmosphere or maybe it's the prim, elderly maid who used to work for her mother, but Hallie just can't shake the feeling that strange things are starting to happen.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Tale of Halcyon Crane
  2. +
  3. Daughters of the Lake

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Daughters of the Lake av Wendy Webb (inbunden).

Köp båda 2 för 398 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Recensioner i media

<p>"Webb offers an engaging modern gothic tale with a strong female protagonist and well-done suspense. Fans of Mary Higgins Clark and Barbara Michaels and readers who like supernatural elements in their fiction will enjoy this debut."--"Library Journal"<p>"Debut novelist Wendy Webb gives both Bram Stoker and Stephen King a run for their travel budget, inventing an island in the Great Lakes that can't be matched for pristine natural beauty, richness of history, touristic amenities . . . and sheer supernatural terror. . . . The novel . . . gives a more generous account of how the spirit of a beautiful place can complexly affect a human being, for both good and ill. Wendy Webb is a professional journalist, first and foremost. Like those journalistic masters Dickens and Twain before her, she knows that to write good travel prose, you must give a vivid account of both the demons you find along the way and the demons you bring along with you."--Michael Alec Rose, "BookPage"<p>"Entertaining to say the least. Sensational . . . Webb's page-turner is a guilty pleasure best suited for a lakeside cabin's bedstand."--Megan Doll, "The Star Tribune"<p>"Booksellers are loving "Halcyon Crane", which has been selected by three Independent Booksellers' associations--national and Midwestern--as worthy of special promotion. . . . Webb includes all the classic ghostly elements in her novel, but she gives the book a contemporary spin with a strong female protagonist."--Mary Ann Grossman, "St. Paul"" Pioneer Press"<p>""The Tale of Halcyon Crane" is a wonderful gothic complete with ghosts and witches, graveyards and dreams. It whisks the reader up and into its magic from the first page. Captivating and haunting, this debut proves Wendy Webb is a very gifted storyteller."--M.J. Rose, author of "The Memorist" and "The Reincarnationist"<p>"A chilling and imaginative ghost story with a charming Great Lakes island setting, a fittingly spooky hilltop mansion, and a likable heroine who is forced

Bloggat om The Tale of Halcyon Crane