The Human Part (häftad)
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
256
Utgivningsdatum
2013-08-01
Utmärkelser
Winner of Prix du Meilleur Livre Etranger 2011; Winner of Runeberg Palkinto (Runeberg Prize) 2010
Förlag
MacLehose Press
Översättare
Owen F Witesman, Owen F Witesman
Originalspråk
Finnish
Dimensioner
196 x 130 x 20 mm
Vikt
182 g
Antal komponenter
1
ISBN
9780857051066
The Human Part (häftad)

The Human Part

Häftad Engelska, 2013-08-01
249
Skickas inom 7-10 vardagar.
Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
An elderly woman agrees to sell her life story to an author with writer's block she meets at a book fair. She needs to talk - her husband has not spoken since a family tragedy some months ago, and seven thousand euros is a lot of money. She claims that her grown-up children are doing well, but the writer imagines less salubrious lives for them, as the downturn of Finland's economic boom begins to bite. Perhaps he's on to something. The Human Part lays bare the absurdities of modern society in the most vicious and precise manner imaginable. But it is also a wise novel of family life, rejoicing in the little white lies we tell one another and the way we pull together in times of tragedy.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Human Part
  2. +
  3. Shuggie Bain

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Shuggie Bain av Douglas Stuart (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 364 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Kari Hotakainen

Recensioner i media

'A simply stunning book. Fans of Mark Haddon and Haruki Murakami will be enraptured' Sarah Beech, Time Out. * Time Out *

Övrig information

Kari Hotakainen was born in 1957 in Pori, Finland. His breakthrough came in 1997 when he was nominated for the Finlandia Prize, which he later won in 2002. Hotakainen has also written children's plays, radio dramas, newspaper columns and television scripts.