The Night Strangers (häftad)
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
400
Utgivningsdatum
2011-11-01
Förlag
Simon & Schuster Ltd
Dimensioner
200 x 129 x 28 mm
Vikt
290 g
Antal komponenter
1
ISBN
9780857206732
The Night Strangers (häftad)

The Night Strangers

Häftad Engelska, 2011-11-01
209
Specialorder (osäker tillgång). Skickas inom 11-20 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 3 format & utgåvor
It begins with a door in a dusky corner of a basement in a rambling Victorian house in northern New Hampshire. A door that someone has sealed it shut with thirty-nine enormous carriage bolts. The home's new owners are Chip and Emily Linton and their twin daughters. Chip was an an airline pilot until he was forced to crash land on a remote lake the jet he was flying after double engine failure. Thirty-nine people aboard Flight 1611 died that day - a coincidence not lost on Chip when he discovers the number of bolts in that basement door . . . Meanwhile, his wife is increasingly troubled about the women in this sparsely populated village, self-proclaimed 'herbalists'. Why do they seem excessively interested in her young daughters. Emily is terrified, too, that her husband's grip on sanity seems to have become increasingly tenuous, in the wake of the devastating plane accident.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Night Strangers
  2. +
  3. The Guest Room

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt The Guest Room av Chris Bohjalian (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 388 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Recensioner i media

"Riveting. . .seamless. . .a hell of a good ghost story."--Justin Cronin, author of "The Passage" "The Night Strangers boasts all the trappings of a classic Gothic horror story, reminiscent in places of the spousal secrets in Nathaniel Hawthorne's 'Young Goodman Brown, ' the thrills of 'Rosemary's Baby, ' and the psychological frights of Daphne du Maurier. . .A perfect book for Halloween. . .That thump thump you hear as you read is only your heart leaping from your chest."--Keith Donohue, "Washington Post" "Shades of "The Shining "make for a haunting tale. . .A modern-day ghost story worth losing sleep over."--"Family Circle""After losing passengers in a forced landing, a pilot seeks respite by moving his family to New England. But the house is haunted and local witches won't leave them alone. Good 'n' spooky.""--Good Housekeeping" "Put a haunted man in a haunted house. . .and you have a Halloween hair-raiser. But it's more than that. Bohjalian, with a dozen well-received novels to his credit, understands trauma: how long it takes to recover from unimaginable pain, and how people who have never experienced it rarely understand."--"Yankee Magazine" "A page-turner of uncommon depth. Guilt, egotism, and fear all play parts in the genre-bending novel."--"Booklist, " Starred Review "Bohjalian has crafted a genre-defying novel, both a compelling story of a family in trauma and a psychological thriller that is truly frightening. Fans of Alice Sebold's "The Lovely Bones" and Margaret Atwood's "Cat's Eye" and "The Robber Bride" will find similar appeal here."--"Library Journal, "Starred Review "Compelling. . .a practical "magick" horror story."--"Kirkus Reviews" "A gripping paranormal thriller. . .Bohjalian is a master, and the slow-mounting dread makes this a frightful ride."--"Publishers Weekly""A delicious and haunting tale. . .Bohjalian is a terrific writer and parsimonious in the way he issues informatio

Bloggat om The Night Strangers

Övrig information

Chris Bohjalian is the critically acclaimed author of 11 novels, including Skeletons at the Feast and his most recent New York Times bestseller, The Double Bind, published by Pocket Books. His work has been translated into eighteen languages and published in twenty-one countries. He lives in Vermont with his wife and daughter.