The Midnight News (inbunden)
Format
Inbunden (Hardback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
432
Utgivningsdatum
2023-04-20
Förlag
Phoenix (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
Dimensioner
238 x 164 x 40 mm
Vikt
669 g
ISBN
9781399602242
The Midnight News (inbunden)

The Midnight News

The gripping and unforgettable novel as heard on BBC Radio 4 Book at Bedtime

Inbunden,  Engelska, 2023-04-20
214
  • Skickas från oss inom 7-10 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
'Impressive and satisfying . . . a novel that succeeds both in creating pages that turn themselves, and in continually feeding the reader's sense of wonder' Daily Telegraph It is 1940 and twenty-year-old Charlotte Richmond watches from her attic window as enemy planes fly over London. Still grieving her beloved brother who never returned from France, she is working hard to keep her own little life ticking over: holding down a dull typist job at the Ministry of Information, sharing gin and confidences with her best friend Elena, and dodging her difficult father. She has good reason to keep her head down and stay out of trouble. She knows what happens when she makes a nuisance of herself. On her way to work she often sees the boy who feeds the birds - a source of unexpected joy amidst the rubble of the Blitz. But every day brings new scenes of devastation, and after yet another heartbreaking loss Charlotte has an uncanny sense of foreboding. Someone is stalking the darkness, targeting her friends. And now he is following her. She no longer knows who to trust. She can't even trust herself. She knows this; her family have told so her often enough. As grief and suspicion consume her, Charlotte's nerves become increasingly frayed, and soon her very freedom is under threat . . . Riveting and deeply moving, The Midnight News is a tour de force from Sunday Times bestselling author Jo Baker - a breathtaking story of friendship, love and war. 'Intriguing and thrilling . . . it had me by the throat' EMMA DONOGHUE 'A marvel of storytelling . . . your heart will be in your mouth as you read' FRANCIS SPUFFORD 'Immersive and utterly enthralling' CATHY RENTZENBRINK 'Riveting and moving . . . masterful' NINA STIBBE 'I stayed up late reading and was glad' SARAH MOSS
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Midnight News
  2. +
  3. To Paradise

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt To Paradise av Hanya Yanagihara (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 263 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Jo Baker

Recensioner i media

An intriguing and thrilling read, believable in the tiniest details - I've read half a dozen novels set in the Blitz but this one is the most atmospheric and memorable. It had me by the throat * Emma Donoghue, author of Room * Deep and dark and wonderful: a marvel of storytelling wrested from the black night of the twentieth century. Your heart will be in your mouth as you read * Francis Spufford, author of Golden Hill * A riveting and moving novel that masterfully captures the reality of wartime in all its sorrow and uncertainty as well as the light that can still be found in the dark and the beauty of lasting friendship * Nina Stibbe, author of Love, Nina * The Midnight News approaches the story of the Blitz from a completely fresh angle. Both a captivating mystery and a moving insight into one woman's experience, this book is a deeply immersive read. Baker is a master at evoking place and time in an incredibly personal, intimate way. A novel you won't forget easily * Jan Carson, author of The Raptures * 'A beautifully written and deeply evocative novel about love and war, defiance and acquiescence, threaded through with a satisfyingly knotty mystery. I adored it' * Eva Dolan, author of This Is How It Ends * Immediately immersive and utterly enthralling, The Midnight News is full of atmosphere and intrigue and tells a deeply moving story that is as surprising as it is satisfying * Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of Everyone Is Still Alive * Jo Baker is one of my absolute favourite writers working today. She is that rare and precious thing: a literary writer with a poet's eye for detail, an acute psychologist who creates characters who live, but also a brilliant storyteller who in The Midnight News tells both a love story and a mystery with increasing tension and dread. I read with a lump in my throat while the family dinner burnt * Natasha Solomons, author of Mr Rosenblums List * As ever, Jo Baker's writing gives us intellectual satisfaction and great narrative pleasure. I stayed up late reading and I was glad. * Sarah Moss, author of Ghost Wall * 'Extremely well-researched and fearsomely well-written, The Midnight News takes us into the mind of Charlotte, a young woman striving to recover from loss while navigating her way through the hazards of the London Blitz. The bombing strikes close to Charlotte's fragile heart - and throws up a mystery she feels compelled to solve. Jo Baker's gripping storyline opens out into fascinating territory - the perception and treatment of mental illness in the 1940s - and ends with a truly touching love story. I have huge admiration for Jo Baker and what she has achieved in this novel' * Frances Liardet, author of We Must Be Brave * 'I love Jo Baker's work - her writing is always so lyrical and delightful. The Midnight News is a beautiful, enthralling novel about a woman losing and finding herself again during World War II. I inhaled it feverishly' * Anna-Marie Crowhurst, author of The Illumination of Ursula Flight * A wonderful novel that immersed me in the terror and heartbreak of wartime London. Atmospheric and totally gripping, with a mystery that had me puzzled right until the last moment. Absolutely superb. * Louise Hare, author of This Lovely City * Second World War love story for fans of Sarah Waters and Kate Atkinson. * The Bookseller * Enthralling and very moving, it's fascinating to be thrown into Charlotte's war-torn world via this precisely imagined, suspenseful novel. The bonus is the sweet love story running through it. * Adele Parks , Platinum * Gripping, intriguing and evocative, The Midnight News is a darkly atmospheric story about a determined young woman trying to forge a life for herself in wartime London. When bombs start falling, Charlotte's grip on reality starts slipping. But is she losing her mind because people she loves are dying, or is the chaos of the Blitz providing a cover for

Övrig information

Jo Baker is the acclaimed author of seven previous novels, including the Sunday Times bestselling Longbourn. She lives with her family in Lancashire.