Same As It Ever Was (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
512
Utgivningsdatum
2024-06-18
Förlag
Orion
Dimensioner
44 x 234 x 153 mm
Vikt
620 g
ISBN
9781399608220

Same As It Ever Was

The immersive and joyful new novel from the author of Reese's Bookclub pick THE MOST FUN WE EVER HAD

Häftad,  Engelska, 2024-06-18
226
Ännu ej utkommen – klicka "Bevaka" för att få ett mejl så fort boken går att köpa.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
'Witty and insightful. A powerful exploration of marriage, motherhood, and self' Bonnie Garmus, author of Lessons in Chemistry

The author of THE MOST FUN WE EVER HAD returns with a brilliantly observed family drama, in which a long marriage faces imminent derailment from events both past and present


At fifty-seven, Julia Ames has found herself with an improbably lovely life.
Despite her inclination towards self-sabotage, she has a husband she loves, two happy children and a quiet, contented existence in the suburbs.

But, out of the blue, things begin to change.

Her always well-behaved son, Ben, is acting strangely, and will soon make a shocking announcement.

Her beloved but belligerent teenage daughter is about to depart for college, leaving Julia unexpectedly terrified of an empty nest.

And, in the local grocery store, Julia encounters a woman she hasn't seen for 20 years - a woman whose friendship was once both her lifeline and, very nearly, her downfall.

Consumed with her checkered past and the chaos of her present, Julia starts to spin out of control, at risk of destroying all she most loves.

Following Julia over the course of a few tumultuous months, bookended by a birthday party and a wedding, and examining the fifty-plus years before, Same as It Ever Was examines the complete and complicated trajectory of one woman's life and asks what it takes to make - and to not break - a family.

PRAISE FOR CLAIRE LOMBARDO:

'A literary love child of Jonathan Franzen and Anne Tyler' Guardian

'Lombardo juggles a huge cast of characters with seeming effortlessness, bringing each to life with humour, vividness and acute psychological insight' Madeline Miller, author of Circe

'Lombardo has a wry, often spiky humour and tightly written style that should appeal to fans of Maria Semple, Emma Straub and Jennifer Egan' Sunday Times

'Lombardo writes like she's been doing it for a hundred years, and like she's been alive for a thousand' Rebecca Makkai, author of The Great Believers

'Lombardo's writing is so elegant - she makes our most complex and fragmented feelings tangible, which is a very rare skill' Daisy Buchanan, author of Insatiable

'John Irving has a literary daughter, and her name is Claire Lombardo' Laline Paull, author of The Bees
'Witty and insightful. A powerful exploration of marriage, motherhood, and self' Bonnie Garmus, author of Lessons in Chemistry

The author of THE MOST FUN WE EVER HAD returns with a brilliantly observed family drama, in which a long marriage faces imminent derailment from events both past and present


At fifty-seven, Julia Ames has found herself with an improbably lovely life.
Despite her inclination towards self-sabotage, she has a husband she loves, two happy children and a quiet, contented existence in the suburbs.

But, out of the blue, things begin to change.

Her always well-behaved son, Ben, is acting strangely, and will soon make a shocking announcement.

Her beloved but belligerent teenage daughter is about to depart for college, leaving Julia unexpectedly terrified of an empty nest.

And, in the local grocery store, Julia encounters a woman she hasn't seen for 20 years - a woman whose friendship was once both her lifeline and, very nearly, her downfall.

Consumed with her checkered past and the chaos of her present, Julia starts to spin out of control, at risk of destroying all she most loves.

Following Julia over the course of a few tumultuous months, bookended by a birthday party and a wedding, and examining the fifty-plus years before, Same as It Ever Was examines the complete and complicated trajectory of one woman's life and asks what it takes to make - and to not brea
Visa hela texten

Fler böcker av Claire Lombardo