The Alex Crow (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
288
Utgivningsdatum
2015-02-26
Förlag
Electric Monkey
Dimensioner
199 x 131 x 18 mm
Vikt
214 g
ISBN
9781405273428
The Alex Crow (häftad)

The Alex Crow

Häftad Engelska, 2015-02-26
95
  • Skickas inom 7-10 vardagar.
  • Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 2 format & utgåvor
From the critically acclaimed author of cult teen novel Grasshopper Jungle, Andrew Smith, comes a startlingly original tale of friendship and brotherhood, war and humanity, identity and existence. Ariel, the sole survivor of an attack on his village in the Middle East is 'rescued' from the horrific madness of war in his homeland by an American soldier and sent to live with a family in suburban Virginia. And yet, to Ariel, this new life with a genetic scientist father and resentful brother, Max, is as confusing and bizarre as the life he just left. Things get even weirder when Ariel and Max are sent to an all-boys summer camp in the forest for tech detox. Intense, funny and fierce friendships are formed. And all the time the scientific tinkerings of the boys' father into genetics and our very existence are creeping up on them in their wooden cabin, second by painful second ... An immersive read for fans of Michael Grant, John Green, Stephen King, and Sally Green's Half Bad novels. Andrew Smith has always wanted to be a writer. After graduating college, he wrote for newspapers and radio stations, but found it wasn't the kind of writing he'd dreamed about doing. Born with an impulse to travel, Smith, the son of an immigrant, bounced around the world and from job to job, before settling down in Southern California. There, he got his first 'real job', as a teacher in an alternative educational program for at-risk teens, married, and moved to a rural mountain location. Smith has now written several award-winning YA novels including Winger, Stick, and Grasshopper Jungle. Praise for Grasshopper Jungle 'Grasshopper Jungle is what would happen if Kurt Vonnegut wrote a YA book. This raunchy, bizarre, smart and compelling sci-fi novel defies description - it's best to go into it with an open mind and allow yourself to be first drawn in, then blown away.' - Rolling Stone 'A cool/passionate, gay/straight, male/female, absurd/real, funny/moving, past/present, breezy/profound masterpiece of a book.' - Michael Grant, bestselling author of the GONE series. 'If you only read one book this year about sexually confused teens battling 6 foot tall head-chomping praying mantises in small town America, make it this one.' - Charlie Higson, author of the bestselling Young Bond series. 'I devoured @marburyjack's wonderful 'cool/passionate' Grasshopper Jungle'. Sally Green, author of Half Bad. 'Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith. You must read immediately. It's an absolute joy. Scary, funny, sexy. Trust me.' - Jake Shears, lead singer of The Scissor Sisters 'Not for the faint-hearted. Mutant grasshoppers, rampant lust - a tale of teen self discovery that grips like a mating mantis.' - Metro
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Alex Crow
  2. +
  3. They Both Die at the End

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt They Both Die at the End av Adam Silvera (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 194 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Andrew Smith

Övrig information

Andrew Smith has always wanted to be a writer. After graduating college, he wrote for newspapers and radio stations, but found it wasn't the kind of writing he'd dreamed about doing. Born with an impulse to travel, Smith, the son of an immigrant, bounced around the world and from job to job, before settling down in Southern California. There, he got his first 'real job', as a teacher in an alternative educational program for at-risk teens, married, and moved to a rural mountain location.