Force of Nature (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
400
Utgivningsdatum
2018-02-01
Förlag
Little, Brown
Dimensioner
234 x 159 x 29 mm
Vikt
520 g
ISBN
9781408711019
Force of Nature (häftad)

Force of Nature

by the author of the Sunday Times top ten bestseller, The Dry

Häftad Engelska, 2018-02-01
149
Skickas inom 5-8 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 3 format & utgåvor
The gripping new novel from the author of the Sunday Times top ten bestseller, Waterstones Thriller of the Month, Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month, and Simon Mayo Radio 2 Book Club Choice, The Dry. FIVE WENT OUT. FOUR CAME BACK... Is Alice here? Did she make it? Is she safe? In the chaos, in the night, it was impossible to say which of the four had asked after Alice's welfare. Later, when everything got worse, each would insist it had been them. Five women reluctantly pick up their backpacks and start walking along the muddy track. Only four come out the other side. The hike through the rugged landscape is meant to take the office colleagues out of their air-conditioned comfort zone and teach resilience and team building. At least that is what the corporate retreat website advertises. Federal Police Agent Aaron Falk has a particularly keen interest in the whereabouts of the missing bushwalker. Alice Russell is the whistleblower in his latest case - and Alice knew secrets. About the company she worked for and the people she worked with. Far from the hike encouraging teamwork, the women tell Falk a tale of suspicion, violence and disintegrating trust. And as he delves into the disappearance, it seems some dangers may run far deeper than anyone knew
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Force of Nature
  2. +
  3. The Dry

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt The Dry av Jane Harper (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 241 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Jane Harper

Recensioner i media

Another superb thriller by the author of The Dry * The Lady * [A] well constructed mystery that's suitably atmospheric with fine descriptions of the Australian bush * Choice magazine * Harper's tough but mild-mannered detective Aaron Falk returns for a second outing . . . Flitting between descriptions of Falk's investigation and an account of Alice and her colleagues' adventures before her disappearance, Harper has produced another humdinger of a thriller -- Charlotte Heathcote * Sunday Express * Harper has proved once again that she is a master of the thriller genre. Highly, highly recommended * Watford Observer * [The Dry] was a superbly riveting demonstration of intelligent crime writing, and its successor, Force of Nature, provides further proof: Jane Harper knows all there is to know about detonating the gut-level shocks of a great thriller....There's a distinct Liane Moriarty vibe to Force of Nature...but with a sharper edge. Jane Harper's brilliance in characterisation and evocative prose is on full display here...In a crowded market, Jane Harper shines at the quality end....Force of Nature is masterfully paced, wonderfully rendered, and devastatingly entertaining * Simon Macdonald, Potts Point Bookshop, Sydney * Harper's mastery of pace makes Force Of Nature one of 2017's best thrillers * Elle Australia * The narrative is finely constructed, with perfectly measured pace and suspense. So much so that it reminded me of another master of form, Liane Moriarty...Harper has also harnessed what captivates the Australian psyche - the landscape. The Dry is set in a small country town in drought, and this time she takes us into the bush. There are echoes of Picnic at Hanging Rock and Lord of the Flies as any appearance of civility slips away and the women lose direction in a hostile landscape. So does Harper's new book live up to the first? I was thrilled to find that it does. The novel delivers and Harper writes like a dream * The Saturday Paper, Australia * As thick with menace as the bush that seems to swallow the difficult Alice...Force of Nature cuts between past and present, corporate and domestic, and cements its author as one of Australia's boldest thriller writers * Australian Women's Weekly * Force of Nature proves Jane Harper, author of The Dry, is no one-hit wonder. Its premise is instantly gripping * Herald Sun (Melbourne) * Once again, Harper manages to touch on something mythic in the Australian experience of the land...From Frederic McCubbin's mournful painting...Lost, to Joan Lindsay's Picnic at Hanging Rock...getting lost in the bush was for a while every non-Indigenous Australian's worst nightmare. Force of Nature plays on this fear and then some. Ratcheting up the sense of threat is the shade of a notorious serial killer lurking in the undergrowth * Sydney Morning Herald * A gripping tale of an elemental battle for survival...Harper once again shows herself to be a storytelling force to be reckoned with * Publishers Weekly * Harper's crackerjack plotting propels the story...Harper layers her story with hidden depths, expertly mining the distrust between Alice and her four colleagues, and the secrets that simmer under the surface...A spooky, compelling read * Kirkus * Riveting, tension-driven thriller...Perfect for fans of Tana French and readers who enjoy literary page-turners * Booklist, starred review * The Dry was one of the standout crime debuts of 2017; Australian author Harper follows it with a story of women hiking in the bush - five go out, but only four come back * Guardian, Books of 2018 * Harper's debut, The Dry, was The Sunday Times crime novel of 2017 and won the CWA Gold Dagger award. That makes this second outing from the Australian a very hot ticket indeed * Sunday Times, Books of 2018 * Lord of the Flies in the Australian outback, with grown women in place of school boys. I loved every chilling moment of it. A blistering follow-up to The Dry from one of the best new voices in crime fiction *

Bloggat om Force of Nature

Övrig information

Jane Harper is the author of the international bestsellers The Dry and Force of Nature. Her books are published in more than 36 territories worldwide, and The Dry is being made into a major film starring Eric Bana. Jane has won numerous top awards including the CWA Gold Dagger Award for Best Crime Novel, the British Book Awards Crime and Thriller Book of the Year, the Australian Book Industry Awards Book of the Year and the Australian Indie Awards Book of the Year. Jane worked as a print journalist for thirteen years both in Australia and the UK and now lives in Melbourne.