Somewhere Close to Happy (inbunden)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Inbunden (Hardback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
336
Utgivningsdatum
2019-06-13
Förlag
Trapeze
Dimensioner
238 x 152 x 30 mm
Vikt
546 g
ISBN
9781409184140
Somewhere Close to Happy (inbunden)

Somewhere Close to Happy

The heart-warming, laugh-out-loud debut of the year

Inbunden Engelska, 2019-06-13
209
Tillfälligt slut – klicka "Bevaka" för att få ett mejl så fort boken går att köpa igen.
Finns även som
Visa alla 2 format & utgåvor
'A wonderfully written, funny and moving debut with an intriguing mystery at its heart... Unforgettable.' - Sunday Times bestselling author, Claire Douglas 'Honest and brave, Somewhere Close to Happy is a thought-provoking, beautifully observed study of love and real life, social issues and mental health' - Jill Mansell 'Lia is one of those rare writers who manage to break your heart and mend it all at once - funny, touching and true' - Stacey Halls, bestselling author of THE FAMILIARS Lizzie James is happy. She has a steady office job (with a steady stream of snacks), has had the same best friend since school, and she sees her family every Thursday night for take-away and trashy TV. Lizzie likes her uncomplicated life. Then a letter arrives one day from her first love, Roman. A letter dated the day he disappeared, 12 years before. As Lizzie uncovers the secrets of the letter, she discovers what really happened the year her life fell apart - and all avenues lead back to Roman. Lizzie James thought she was happy, or somewhere close to happy, anyway. Now she's not so sure. 'Lia Louis's fine debut is as layered and socially aware as it is moving and witty' - Woman Magazine 'A funny and heart-warming story of first loves and the importance of friendship, but also a moving and wise exploration of mental health, childhood, self-discovery and - ultimately - the importance of being brave.' - Sunday Times bestselling author, Gillian McAllister Perfect for fans of Giovanna Fletcher, Mhairi McFarlane and Cecelia Ahern. This is a novel you won't soon forget.
Visa hela texten

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Lia Louis

Recensioner i media

This book is beautiful. The writing is generous and kind and funny. I fell in love with the story and the characters, it made me feel hopeful, and I cried. Lia is such a talented, wonderful writer. -- Hayley Webster A wonderfully written, funny and moving debut with an intriguing mystery at its heart. I laughed, cried and was completely swept away by Lizzy and Roman's story. Unforgettable. -- Claire Douglas I thought it was both a funny and heart-warming story... Louis's is a bold, standout voice in the women's fiction genre and Somewhere Close To Happy deserves to be huge. -- Gillian McAllister I loved it. I want more. It is just exquisitely written. So tender and packed with emotion but also great humour. It deserves to soar. -- Claire Allan Honest and brave, Somewhere Close to Happy is a thought-provoking, beautifully observed study of love and real life, social issues and mental health -- Jill Mansell Oh my god, I LOVED Somewhere Close to Happy. It made me cry several times but was also really funny. It is so incredibly good. -- Laura Marshall Beautiful, raw, emotional, gripping. Roman and Lizzie will burrow into your hearts and never leave. -- Lynsey James Lia is one of those rare writers who manage to break your heart and mend it all at once. Somewhere Close to Happy is a gem of a book - funny, touching and true -- Stacey Halls In her protagonist Lizzie, Lia has created a character whose journey and emotional depth is a triumph. * Woman's Weekly Fiction Special * You'll laugh, you'll cry and you'll love this warm and tender story. -- Claire Frost * Fabulous Magazine, The Sun * Lia Louis could give PS I Love You author Cecilia Ahern a run for her money with this funny and moving debut. * Sunday Post * Told with warmth, this is an enjoyable, bittersweet page-turner. * Good Housekeeping *

Övrig information

Lia Louis is a writer from Hertfordshire where she lives with her partner and three young children. In 2015, she won ELLE magazine's annual talent competition with her contemporary love letter, #RelationshipGoals. Lia's fascination with letters doesn't stop with her writing: she also has a varied collection of old letters which are a source of inspiration to her. Somewhere Close to Happy is her first novel. Lia can be found tweeting at @LisforLia.