The Unforgetting (inbunden)
Format
Inbunden (Hardback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
368
Utgivningsdatum
2020-01-09
Förlag
Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
Dimensioner
223 x 144 x 32 mm
Vikt
478 g
ISBN
9781409190615
The Unforgetting (inbunden)

The Unforgetting

A spellbinding and atmospheric historical novel

Inbunden Engelska, 2020-01-09
189
Skickas inom 10-15 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige för privatpersoner.
Kan tyvärr inte längre levereras innan jul.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
A spellbinding historical novel of obsession, the lure of fame, and the power of illusion, perfect for fans of The Binding, The Lost Ones and The Foundling Her fate was decided. Her death was foretold. Her past is about to be unforgotten... 1851. When Lily Bell is sold by her father to a 'Professor of Ghosts' to settle a bad debt, she dreams of finding fame on the London stage. But Erasmus Salt wants Lily not as an actress, but as his very own ghost - the heart of his elaborate illusion for those desperate for a glimpse of the spirit world . . . Obsessed with perfection, Erasmus goes to extreme lengths to ensure his illusion is realistic. When Lily comes across her own obituary in the paper, and then her headstones in the cemetery, she realises that she is trapped, her own parents think she is dead, and that her fate is soon to become even darker . . . *** Readers are entranced by The Unforgetting . . . 'This haunting Victorian novel weaves a spellbinding web of deluded dreams and dark deceptions' Essie Fox 'Evocative and atmospheric, The Unforgetting is a macabre tale of dark obsessions and deadly ambitions, where nothing is quite what it seems' Anita Frank, author of The Lost Ones 'This Victorian gothic fantasy . . . drips with menace' Daily Mail 'A sinister, fast-paced gothic tale' Caitlin Davies, author of Daisy Belle 'This is dark, gothic historical fiction at its best. A tale of obsession, control, illusion and mystery in the Victorian era. Beautifully written, chilling and haunting' The Bookwormery 'This is a book of magic, of women's strength, of the power of love . . . a splendid and brilliantly paced novel' Northern Reader Blog 'A story of obsession and haunting illusions that will leave the reader chilled to the bone . . . this book entraps you [and] bewitches you' Bunny's Pause Blog 'From the very first pages, Black's novel grabs our attention, drawing us into a beautifully evoked, sensory world . . . highly recommended' The Literary Shed
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Unforgetting
  2. +
  3. Unforgetting Private Charles Smith

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Unforgetting Private Charles Smith av Jonathan Locke Hart (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 348 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Rose Black

  • Unforgetting

    Rose Black

    A spellbinding historical novel of obsession, the lure of fame, and the power of illusion, perfect for fans of The Binding, Bone China and The Lost Ones The lure of fameSold by her father to a 'Professor of Ghosts', Lily Bell dreams of a career on...

Recensioner i media

From the very first pages, Black's novel grabs our attention, drawing us into a beautifully evoked, sensory world . . . highly recommended A story of obsession and haunting illusions that will leave the reader chilled to the bone . . . this book entraps you [and] bewitches you This is a book of magic, of women's strength, of the power of love . . . a splendid and brilliantly paced novel Lose yourself in this atmospheric tale * Best * A chilling, atmospheric page-turner * My Weekly * A sinister, fast-paced gothic tale Deliciously haunting Gothic fiction * i newspaper * A lively, pacy read * The Times * A feast of Victorian gothic is served with relish in this dark tale * The People * This Victorian gothic fantasy offers . . . an atmosphere that drips with menace * Daily Mail * Evocative and atmospheric, The Unforgetting is a macabre tale of dark obsessions and deadly ambitions, where nothing is quite what it seems This haunting Victorian novel weaves a spellbinding web of deluded dreams and dark deceptions

Övrig information

Rose Black has written stories all her life. Her long-standing fascination with the Victorians and 19th century England underlies this novel. An award-winning freelance writer, she's covered health, overseas development and education. Married, with two children, she lives partly in London and at other times by the sea. In her spare time, she enjoys wild swimming and growing food and flowers on her allotment.