The Other Four Plays of Sophocles (häftad)
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Antal sidor
Johns Hopkins University Press
David R Slavitt
213 x 137 x 23 mm
386 g
Antal komponenter
The Other Four Plays of Sophocles (häftad)

The Other Four Plays of Sophocles

Ajax, Women of Trachis, Electra, and Philoctetes

Häftad Engelska, 2013-12-15
Skickas inom 7-10 vardagar.
Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 2 format & utgåvor
There are seven surviving tragedies by Sophocles. Three of them form the Theban Plays, which recount the story of Thebes during and after the reign of Oedipus. Here, David Slavitt translates the remaining tragedies - the "other four plays:" Ajax, Women of Trachis, Electra, and Philoctetes. Punchy and entertaining, Slavitt reads Athena's opening line in Ajax as: "I've got my eye on you, Odysseus. Always." By simplifying the Greek and making obscure designations more accessible - specifying the character Athena in place of "aegis-wearing goddess," for example - his translations are highly performable. The Other Four Plays of Sophocles will help students discover underlying thematic connections across plays as well. Praise for David R. Slavitt: "Slavitt's translation is ...lively and sometimes witty." (Times Literary Supplement, reviewing Slavitt's translation of Seneca). "The best version of Ovid's Metamorphoses available in English today...It is readable, alive, at times slangy, and actually catches Ovid's tone." (Philadelphia Inquirer, reviewing Slavitt's translation of The Metamorphoses of Ovid). "Slavitt's ability is clearly in evidence...These translations are rendered in lucid, contemporary English, bringing before us the atrocities, horrors, and grotesqueries of Imperial Rome. " (Classical Outlook, reviewing Slavitt's translation of Seneca). "Excellent translations that suit the ear and strengthen the feeble spirit of the time...One will do well to read these hymns, these poems, and find nourishment in them in Slavitt's translations." (Anglican Theological Review, reviewing Slavitt's translation of Hymns of Prudentius).
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Other Four Plays of Sophocles
  2. +
  3. Sophocles, 1

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Sophocles, 1 av David R Slavitt, Palmer Bovie (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 518 kr


Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Sophocles

Övrig information

David R. Slavitt is a poet, translator, novelist, critic, and journalist. He is author of more than seventy works of fiction, poetry, and poetry and drama in translation.


Preface Ajax Women of Trachis Electra Philoctetes