The Book of Dreams (inbunden)
Format
Inbunden (Hardback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
400
Utgivningsdatum
2019-04-18
Förlag
Scribner UK
Dimensioner
214 x 147 x 30 mm
Vikt
476 g
ISBN
9781471168338
The Book of Dreams (inbunden)

The Book of Dreams

Inbunden Engelska, 2019-04-18
169
Skickas inom 2-5 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 4 format & utgåvor
From the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop, comes a delightful, offbeat, charming and bittersweet tale about the distance one man will travel for the sake of love and friendship. Henri is about to meet his teenage son, Sam, for the first time. But as Henri crosses Hammersmith Bridge, an accident happens. Sam reads about it in the newspaper - his father is a hero, now in a coma in hospital. So their first meeting takes place there, alongside the hospital's neurologist, whom the staff name God and is the first person to treat Sam as an equal in intelligence. And that's because Sam, due to a condition called synaesthesia, can sense things the doctors can't - he can see the colours of his father's thoughts and dreams, and many relationships build from this. This beautiful novel is warm, wise, wry look at what love means. It's about fathers and sons, friendship and family, life, death and making peace with the past in order to find a future. Praise for Nina George's novels: `This charming tale is already a bestseller in Germany. For fans of Like Water for Chocolate and Amelie'Red `George uses a heady cocktail of literature and more sensual pleasures to create a wonderfully offbeat romance' Mail on Sunday `Glowing . . . layered with wit, enchanting writing and a love of books' Daily Mail `A true gem for fiction lovers' Good Housekeeping `A captivating curiosity, for those who still believe in love and books, friendship and food, happiness and romance' Saga `A capricious, meandering journey of love, loss and wonderful food, so beautifully described. I enjoyed every moment' Carole Matthews `If you're looking to be charmed right out of your own life for a few hours, sit down with this wise and winsome novel . . . Everything happens just as you want it to . . . from poignant moments to crystalline insights in exactly the right measure' oprah.com 'An enchanting, uplifting read . . . the sort of book that acts as a soothing tonic as you read' Independent 'A life-affirming novel' Sunday Express
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Book of Dreams
  2. +
  3. The Little Breton Bistro

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt The Little Breton Bistro av Nina George (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 244 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Bloggat om The Book of Dreams

Övrig information

Born 1973 in Bielefeld, Germany, Nina George is a prize-winning and bestselling author ("Das Lavendelzimmer" - "The Little Paris Bookshop") and freelance journalist since 1992, who has published 26 books (novels, mysteries and non-fiction) as well as over hundred short stories and more than 600 columns. George has worked as a cop reporter, columnist and managing editor for a wide range of publications, including Hamburger Abendblatt, Die Welt, Der Hamburger, "politik und kultur" as well as TV Movie and Federwelt. Georges writes also under three pen-names, for ex "Jean Bagnol", a double-andronym for provence-based mystery novels. In 2012 and 2013 she won the DeLiA and the Glauser-Prize. In 2013 she had her first bestselling book "Das Lavendelzimmer", translated in 27 langues and sold more than 500.000 copies. In November 2011, Nina George established the "JA zum Urheberrecht" (YES on Author's Rights) initiative, which supports the rights of authors, artists and entertainers and is dedicated to resolving issues within the literary community as well as establishing fair and practical rights-license models for the web-distribution. 14 writers' associations and 27 publishing partners have since joined the JA...-Initiative. George supports the "Initiative Urheberrecht" (Author's Rights Initiative-www.urheber.info) as well as the "gib 8 aufs Wort"-campaign of the VG Wort. In August 2014 George initiated the Amazon-protest in Germany www.fairer-buchmarkt.de, where overs 2000 germanspeaking authors - Nobelprizewinnig Elfriede Jelinek or Bestsellingauthor Nele Neuhaus - sign an open letter to Jeff Bezos and Amazon, protesting against the banned-book-methods of the giant retailer in the Hachette/Bonnier-dispute. In 2015 George is the founder of the Initiative Fairer Buchmarkt e.V., which supports questions of law in daily business of authors - for ex in contracts, fees or author's rights and e-Business. George is Member to PEN, Das Syndikat (association of German-language crime writers), the Association of German Authors (VS), the Hamburg Authors' Association (HAV), BucherFrauen (Women in Publishing), the IACW/AIEP (International Association of Crime Writers), the GEDOK (Association of female artists in Germany), PRO QUOTE and Lean In. Nina George sits on the board of the Three Seas Writers' and Translaters' Council (TSWTC), whose members come from 16 different countries. Nina George teaches writing at Literaturburo Unna, Alsterdamm Kunstschule, Wilhelmsburger Honigfabrik, where she coaches young people, adults and professional authors. George also moderates (bilingual) readings and works as a speaker. www.nina-george.com