Valour And Vanity (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
384
Utgivningsdatum
2014-05-15
Förlag
Corsair
Dimensioner
197 x 130 x 29 mm
Vikt
411 g
ISBN
9781472110206
Valour And Vanity (häftad)

Valour And Vanity

(The Glamourist Histories #4)

Häftad Engelska, 2014-05-15
229
  • Skickas inom 7-10 vardagar.
  • Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
Murano, Italy When a family celebration brings Glamourists Jane and David Vincent to the Continent, they seize the opportunity to voyage for Murano, to study the world-renowned glassblowers at work. But their ship is set upon by Barbary corsairs en route - and they arrive in Murano penniless. Fortunately, they meet a gentleman banker who arranges for a line of credit and a place to live. But just as the Vincents start to relax, a solicitor arrives at their house and it becomes clear they have been the victims of an elaborate heist. Trapped, penniless, their safety in fragile shape, they hatch a reckless plan to get their money back. The ensuing adventure is a glorious envisioning of all the best parts of heist narratives, but in a Regency setting - with magic.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Valour And Vanity
  2. +
  3. Shades of Milk and Honey

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Shades of Milk and Honey av Mary Robinette Kowal (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 348 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Mary Robinette Kowal

Recensioner i media

With magic, manners, mayhem, and no small measure of derring-do - the Glamourist Histories are everything you could wish for in a sleek, fashionable fantasy series. A shimmering adventure for history buffs and glamour enthusiasts alike. -- Cherie Priest With the grace of SENSE AND SENSIBILITY, a touch of classic fairy tale magic, and an action-packed ending, [the Glamourist Histories] will appeal to fans of Jane Austen, Jane Yolen, Patricia Wrede, Susannah Clarke, and even Jasper Fforde. * Library Journal * Kowal has captured both the style and content of an Austen novel, adding her own speculative fiction twist. Readers who enjoyed such novels as Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell will find [the Glamourist Histories] appealing as well * The Jane Austen Centre, Bath * Startlingly good. -- Patrick Rothfuss Simply enchanting. -- John Scalzi A delightful read, with an examination of the craft and emotion of art combined with deftly drawn characters, laugh-out-loud wit and a magical re-imagining of Georgian society. * SFX * I love these books! They're an ideal mix between adventure, character, and magic. -- Brandon Sanderson In her Glamourist Histories series, she captures the tone of an Austen or a Heyer, while setting the stories in a world where ladies of Quality must manipulate Glamour to create intricate illusions. * USA Today *

Övrig information

Mary Robinette Kowal is an author, professional puppeteer and voice actor. Mary currently lives in Chicago, Illinois. Visit www.maryrobinettekowal.com for more information about her fiction and her puppetry.