Where the Crawdads Sing (häftad)
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
384
Utgivningsdatum
2019-12-12
Utmärkelser
Short-listed for Indie Book Awards 2020 (UK)
Förlag
Corsair
Dimensioner
196 x 128 x 24 mm
Vikt
300 g
ISBN
9781472154668
Where the Crawdads Sing (häftad)

Where the Crawdads Sing

(25 röster)  |  Läs 3 recensioner
Häftad Engelska, 2019-12-12
126
  • Skickas inom 7-10 vardagar.
  • Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 199 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 8 format & utgåvor
#1 New York Times Bestseller A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick "I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!" Reese Witherspoon "Painfully beautiful." The New York Times Book Review For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life - until the unthinkable happens. Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Where the Crawdads Sing
  2. +
  3. It Ends With Us

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt It Ends With Us av Colleen Hoover (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 245 kr

Kundrecensioner

Det finns 3 recensioner av Where the Crawdads Sing. Har du också läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »
  1. Beautiful
    Dania Amine Haddad, 9 mars 2021

    I was recommended this book. An amazing read. I would totally recommend it. It's Beautifully written. A Lovely story line

  2. Wherethe Crawdads sing
    Mari McDonald, 25 november 2020

    One of the best books I've read this year. I was taken in by the story from page one onwards. Loved Kya, loved Tate and Jumpin ?, loved the court scene and I especially loved the ending

  3. Läsvärd
    Helena, 8 juli 2020

    Fin berättelse.
    Lite enahanda språk för att vara engelska, brukar kunna vara så berikande att läsa.
    Bladvändare.
    Rekommenderar till en vän som läsvärd.

Visa alla 3 recensioner

Fler böcker av Delia Owens

Recensioner i media

A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature . . . Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world - New York Times Book Review An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told-one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You'll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you're done you will want to talk about it with another reader. - Chris Schluep, Amazon Book Review Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut. - People This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver - Bustle A nature-infused romance with a killer twist - Refinery29 Part murder-mystery, part coming-of-age novel, its evocation of the marshland and its inhabitants is as unforgettable as Kya herself. A story of loneliness, survival and love that's as engrossing as it is moving - Daily Mail Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story. - Entertainment Weekly For a debut the prose is impressively accomplished . . . A Hollywood film seems inevitable. Yet it will be hard to match on screen the delicacy of Owens's exploration of the natural world. Kya and her magical little world are a rare achievement - The Times

Övrig information

Delia Owens is the co-author of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa including Cry of the Kalahari. She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, The African Journal of Ecology, and many others. She currently lives in Idaho. Where the Crawdads Sing is her first novel.