Strangers with the Same Dream (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
384
Utgivningsdatum
2018-08-09
Förlag
Tinder Press
Dimensioner
233 x 168 x 28 mm
Vikt
464 g
Komponenter
,
ISBN
9781472225122
Strangers with the Same Dream (häftad)

Strangers with the Same Dream

From the Man Booker Longlisted author of Far to Go

Häftad Engelska, 2018-08-09
159
Skickas inom 2-5 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 3 format & utgåvor
From Alison Pick, Booker Prize longlisted author of FAR TO GO comes a suspenseful, dystopian reimagining of the founding of a kibbutz in 1920s Palestine, for readers of WHEN I LIVED IN MODERN TIMES, THE HANDMAID'S TALE or THE POWER.

'We came into their valley at dawn.' From three vastly different points of view, Alison Pick relates the story of a group of Jewish pioneers, many escaping violent homelands, who have come together to found a kibbutz on a patch of land that will later become part of Israel. with tightly controlled intensity, Pick takes us into three very different minds to show us how a utopian dream is punctured by messy human entanglements. Yet this is also the story of the land itself (present-day Israel and Palestine), revealing the way the newcomers chose to ignore the fact that their valley was already populated, home to a people that the pioneers did not want to see.

In writing of extraordinary, at time heartbreaking power, Pick has created unforgettable characters, haunted by ghosts and compromised by unbearable secrets. The novel's shocking conclusion is a tour de force, the work of a writer uniquely in control of her craft an with an extraordinary insight into the innermost workings of the human heart.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Strangers with the Same Dream
  2. +
  3. Work Like Any Other

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Work Like Any Other av Virginia Reeves (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 253 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Bloggat om Strangers with the Same Dream

Övrig information

Alison Pick is the author of FAR TO GO, longlisted for the 2011 Man Booker Prize, and winner of the Canadian Jewish Book Award for fiction; and a memoir, BETWEEN GODS, which was shortlisted for the Wingate Prize. She is also the author of two collections of poetry, and a novel, THE SWEET EDGE, all of which were published to wide acclaim. She lives in Toronto, Canada.