In Our Mad and Furious City (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
352
Utgivningsdatum
2018-05-03
Förlag
Tinder Press
Dimensioner
148 x 231 x 23 mm
Vikt
400 g
Komponenter
,
ISBN
9781472250209
In Our Mad and Furious City (häftad)

In Our Mad and Furious City

Häftad Engelska, 2018-05-03
199
  • Skickas inom 5-8 vardagar.
  • Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 3 format & utgåvor
Guy Gunaratne's blistering debut, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY, is an unforgettable portrait of 48 hours on a London council estate, and will appeal to readers of NW, THE BRICKS THAT MADE THE HOUSES or fans of THIS IS ENGLAND or LA HAINE.IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY centres around three friends for whom suddenly everything is at stake. Selvon, the athlete, driven by the need to win, counts the days until he can start over at Brunel. Music-obsessed Ardan, whose wickedly sharp rhymes are his only form of self-defence, is unexpectedly offered a glimpse of a future he has hardly dared dream of. Yusuf slips away from home for an afternoon of football, far from the fallout of his father's death. Whether he can escape the ugly radicalism gaining the upper hand at his mosque is another matter.When the mood turns dangerous on the Stones Estate, there can be no certainties for any of them. Written in a voice as starkly beautiful as it is authentically urban, and looking back to earlier chapters in this island's troubled history, Guy Gunaratne's impassioned first novel dares to ask some urgent questions of our divided society. Peopled by a cast of characters who will haunt you, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY announces the arrival of a major new talent in fiction.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. In Our Mad and Furious City
  2. +
  3. Chinese Dissonance

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Chinese Dissonance av Guy Gunaratne (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 308 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Guy Gunaratne

  • I en galen rasande stad

    Guy Gunaratne

    »Gunaratne skriver med ett storartat schvung, på ett språk som pendlar nästan sömlöst mellan det lyriskt högstämda och ett annat slags mer gatunära poesi.« Amanda Svensson, Expressen »Gunaratnes debutbok är något så ovanligt som en perfekt orkestr...

  • Chinese Dissonance

    Guy Gunaratne

Övrig information

Guy Gunaratne grew up in North West London and has worked as a designer, documentary filmmaker and video journalist covering post-conflict areas around the world, as well as co-founding two technology companies. He was shortlisted for the 4th Estate/Guardian Books B4ME Short Story Prize.