The Girl in the Letter: The most gripping, heartwrenching page-turner of the year (häftad)
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
384
Utgivningsdatum
2019-04-04
Förlag
Headline Review
Dimensioner
196 x 127 x 23 mm
Vikt
272 g
Antal komponenter
1
ISBN
9781472255099
The Girl in the Letter: The most gripping, heartwrenching page-turner of the year (häftad)

The Girl in the Letter: The most gripping, heartwrenching page-turner of the year

(1 röst)  |  Läs 1 recension
Häftad Engelska, 2019-04-04
109
  • Skickas inom 7-10 vardagar.
  • Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
Read her letter. Remember her story... Gripping. Mesmerising. Haunting. Heart-breaking. Once you've heard her story, you will never forget The Girl in the Letter. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Kathryn Hughes, this page-turning, moving novel of separation and long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever. In the winter of 1956 pregnant young Ivy is sent in disgrace to St Margaret's, a home for unmarried mothers in the south of England, run by nuns, to have her child. Her baby daughter is adopted. Ivy will never leave. Sixty years later, journalist Samantha stumbles upon a series of letters from Ivy to her lover, pleading with him to rescue her from St Margaret's before it is too late. As Sam pieces together Ivy's tragic story, terrible secrets about St Margaret's dark past begin to emerge. What happened to Ivy, to her baby, and to the hundreds of children born in the home? What links a number of mysterious, sudden deaths in the area? And why are those who once worked at St Margaret's so keen that the truth should never be told? As Sam unpicks the sinister web of lies surrounding St Margaret's, she also looks deep within - to confront some unwelcome truths of her own...
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Girl in the Letter: The most gripping, heartwrenching page-turner of the year
  2. +
  3. The Lost Child

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt The Lost Child av Emily Gunnis (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 228 kr

Kundrecensioner

Det finns 1 recension av The Girl in the Letter: The most gripping, heartwrenching page-turner of the year. Har du också läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »
  1. Rubbish
    Lis Spange Ribbholm, 28 april 2021

    Överkonstruerad, helt osannolik ur alla aspekter, visserligen fiktion, men dålig sådan. Tänker inte läsa den andra boken, jag köpte. Tacka vet jag Ruth Rendell/Barbara Vine!

Visa alla 1 recensioner

Fler böcker av Emily Gunnis

Recensioner i media

A great book, truly hard to put down. Fast-paced, brilliantly plotted and desperately sad at times - all hallmarks of a bestseller -- Lesley Pearse Compelling, twisty, heart-wrenching and thought-provoking. A novel that stays with you -- Sophie Kinsella What a heartfelt emotional story, made even more so because it's based on a shocking truth. I raced through it, involved, moved and gripped * Fanny Blake *

Övrig information

Emily Gunnis previously worked in TV drama and lives in Brighton with her young family. She is one of the four daughters of Sunday Times bestselling author Penny Vincenzi.