Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village (e-bok)
Format
E-bok
Filformat
EPUB med LCP-kryptering (0.0 MB)
Om LCP-kryptering
Nedladdning
Kan laddas ned under 24 månader, dock max 6 gånger.
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
368
Utgivningsdatum
2018-09-25
Förlag
Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN
9781473685857

Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village E-bok

An absolutely laugh out loud, heartwarming read of love, friendship and second chances at any age

E-bok (LCP),  Engelska, 2018-09-25
34
Billigast på PriceRunner
Läs i Bokus Reader för iOS och Android
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
'Such a great read... This one had me laughing out loud with tears running down my face... with all of the emotional feels that will keep you turning the pages... This is a must read' Reader review It's never too late to grow old disgracefully... The life of 79-year-old pensioner Peggy Smart is as beige as the d cor in her retirement village. Her week revolves around aqua aerobics and appointments with her doctor. The highlight of Peggy's day is watching her neighbour Brian head out for his morning swim. Peggy dreams of inviting the handsome widower - treasurer of the Residents' Committee and one of the few eligible men in the village - to an intimate dinner. But why would an educated man like Brian, a chartered accountant no less, look twice at Peggy? As a woman of a certain age, she fears she has become invisible, even to men in their eighties. But a chance encounter with an old school friend she hasn't seen in five decades - the glamorous fashionista Angie Valentine - sets Peggy on an unexpected journey of self-discovery. Can she channel her 'inner Helen Mirren' and find love and friendship in her twilight years?A brilliantly witty and heartfelt story that proves it is never to late to write a brand-new chapter. Fans of Judy Leigh, Jill Mansell and Sally Page will fall in love with this beautifully uplifting tale. Readers love The Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village:'LOVE LOVE LOVE this little gem of a book and it's 353 pages of pure joy!' Reader review 'What an utterly delightful read! I loved this book from the beginning... I can't imagine any woman over a certain age not enjoying this book! I also challenge anyone to write a better, funnier description of a seniors Aqua aerobics class than the one the author Joanna Nell wrote!' Reader review 'I laughed out loud and loved this story, where growing older doesn't mean getting old. I think we would all benefit from having a Peggy and Angie in our lives no matter our age' Reader review 'I could have kept on reading about 79-year-old Peggy Smart and her refusal to grow old gracefully forever and if I ever find myself in a retirement home, it's these characters from the story that I'd love to be living alongside. I loved every adorable minute, such rip-roaring fun' Reader review 'A great story, it is funny, moving, emotional and so very heartwarming, make yourself comfortable for this one while you enjoy meeting the lovey seventy nine year old Peggy Smart and the highs and lows of living in a retirement village and aging with decorum and aplomb as best she can' Reader review Praise for Joanna Nell: 'Hugely entertaining . . . funny and heart-warming' Woman & Home 'Warm-hearted book that had me rooting for all the characters and laughing out loud' Libby Page, author of The Lido'Poignant and warm-hearted . . . a tonic for our times' Holly Miller, author of The Sight of You 'A warm and touching story with a cast of characters who became my friends' Katie Marsh, author of How Not to Murder Your Ex 'A funny and poignant exploration of growing old disgracefully' Culturefly
Visa hela texten

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Joanna Nell