Exciting Times (inbunden)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Inbunden (Hardback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
288
Utgivningsdatum
2020-04-16
Förlag
Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Dimensioner
222 x 138 x 23 mm
Vikt
388 g
ISBN
9781474613446
Exciting Times (inbunden)

Exciting Times

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER and shortlisted for the An Post Irish Book Awards 2020

(1 röst)
Inbunden Engelska, 2020-04-16
178
Skickas inom 7-10 vardagar.
Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 2 format & utgåvor
'The book of the summer ... Kept me rapt until the final page' THE TIMES 'A sharp, smart, witty modern love story. I loved it' David Nicholls, author of ONE DAY 'More than lives up to the hype ... Likely to fill the Sally-Rooney-shaped hole in many readers' lives' IRISH TIMES 'Droll, shrewd and unafraid - a winning debut' Hilary Mantel, author of WOLF HALL 'I've been pushing Exciting Times on everyone I know. Some of Dolan's pithy observations of her characters are the best I've read since Edward St Aubyn' OBSERVER 'A frankly sensational book' Pandora Sykes on THE HIGH LOW 'In the tradition of Dorothy Parker, Joan Rivers and Nora Ephron ... I found myself purring with pleasure. ...This is comic writing at the highest level' Craig Brown, DAILY MAIL When you leave Ireland aged 22 to spend your parents' money, it's called a gap year. When Ava leaves Ireland aged 22 to make her own money, she's not sure what to call it, but it involves: - a badly-paid job in Hong Kong, teaching English grammar to rich children; - Julian, who likes to spend money on Ava and lets her move into his guest room; - Edith, who Ava meets while Julian is out of town and actually listens to her when she talks; - money, love, cynicism, unspoken feelings and unlikely connections. Exciting times ensue.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Exciting Times
  2. +
  3. Beach Read

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Beach Read av Emily Henry (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 287 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Naoise Dolan

  • Edith och Julian

    Naoise Dolan

    Irländska Ava är några och tjugo. Hon bor för närvarande i Hongkong, där hon delar en kackerlacksinvaderad Airbnb-lägenhet med några jämnåriga och undervisar barn i engelska som andraspråk. Ibland träffar hon Julian, som har ett stressigt och upps...

  • Jänniä aikoja

    Naoise Dolan

    Kirjamaailman uusi komeetta kuvaa ihmissuhteita yhtä ihanan terävästi kuin kulttiklassikko Lost in Translation. 22-vuotias dublinilainen Ava opettaa Hongkongissa englantia rikkaiden lapsille, ja vihaa työtään. Ava tutustuu investointipankkiiriin, ...

Recensioner i media

Withering, stylish prose that is at times deceptively simple but always flush with caustic wit, I savoured every shrewd line. * Dazed * We loved Dolan's evisceration of Insta culture - SAVAGE. -- Cosmopolitan * Cosmopolitan * A sharp, witty debut. * Stylist * Naoise Dolan's debut is whipsmart, sharp and full of delightfully perceptive observations * Daily Express * Snappy, sharp and smart [with] painfully funny insight that has drawn justifiable comparisons to Sally Rooney * Sunday Express * A wry, stylish debut ... In this witty satire of the haves and have nots, Dolan explores tender, insightful truths about the vagaries of modern love * Esquire * A sharp, witty and ultimately moving debut ... Dolan brings a fresh insight into modern love that will inevitably make this a hit among those who love Normal People * Independent * I savoured every shrewd line * Dazed * The Irish debut novel everyone is talking about * The Gloss * With Naoise Dolan on the literary scene, there are EXCITING TIMES ahead * i-D * Incredibly readable * Belfast Telegraph * Dolan is a writer entirely in command of her craft ... The writing fairly sizzles on the page... EXCITING TIMES is an acerbic tale of sex and love, set in the social media age * The Herald Scotland * What sets Dolan apart is her humour. EXCITING TIMES is riddled with snappy one liners and witty interplay. A fantastic first novel * Metro * A fresh and funny debut about love and self-knowledge ... affecting and powerful * Guardian * Sometimes hilarious, sometimes heart-breaking... Ava is a most interesting literary heroine ... I rarely find myself rooting for a character as much as I did for her ... A whip-smart, funny and poignant story of modern love, accessible to all. It should be on everyone's 2020 must read list * Irish Sunday Independent * A dazzling debut... Dolan's writing is precise, acerbic and enviably good, and her characters are perfectly drawn * Evening Standard * The most talked about novel of the summer * The Sunday Times Style * A wily, caustic story about young love ... Sentence-by-sentence, EXCITING TIMES is both a joy and a triumph... I delighted in the brilliance of Dolan's deadpan style. * The i newspaper * A Book of the Year in The Sunday Times and a Best Book of the Summer in The i newspaper. A wonderfully sharp, comic writer, adept at making wisecracks in the caustic, knock-em-off, knock-em-down tradition of Dorothy Parker, Joan Rivers and Nora Ephron ... [Ava] is Bridget Jones's sour sister, or Bridget Jones marinaded in vinegar... I found myself purring with pleasure. I loved EXCITING TIMES's snap and its bite ... This is comic writing at the highest level, created with such apparent ease that it seems to dance across the page ... At its best, EXCITING TIMES reminds me of Martin Amis's first novel, The Rachel Papers. In its icy take on consumerism it's also reminiscent of Bret Easton Ellis's American Psycho. Like both those novels it seems to be brilliantly in tune with its times. * Daily Mail * THIS BOOK!!!! It's as BRILLIANT as everyone says!!!! I DEVOURED it and it delighted me with its ideas and made me LAUGH so much and gave me hope. Naoise Dolan is thrillingly honest about class iniquity, sexism, poverty, the after-effects of colonialism - it's so REFRESHING. I kept seizing on paragraphs and shouting, THIS!! THIS IS THE THING I WAS THINKING BUT COULDN'T ARTICULATE!!! * Marian Keyes * I tore through EXCITING TIMES, a sharp, smart, witty modern love story. I loved it * David Nicholls * I've been pushing Exciting Times on everyone I know: it is the perfect blend of caustically clever and emotionally engaging. Some of Dolan's pithy observations of her characters are the best I've read since Edward St Aubyn * Observer * I wouldn't be surprised if it emerges as the book of the summer... A rich, sharply witty story made out of the frictions and complexities of young love ... Kept me rapt until the final page * The Times * From the opening page, Ava's voice is e

Övrig information

Naoise Dolan is an Irish writer born in Dublin. She studied English Literature at Trinity College Dublin and Oxford University. EXCITING TIMES is her first novel, an excerpt from which was published in The Stinging Fly.