The Bone Sparrow (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Läsålder
12-15 år
Antal sidor
240
Utgivningsdatum
2017-01-12
Utmärkelser
Short-listed for Carnegie Medal 2017; Short-listed for Guardian Children's Fiction Prize 2016
Förlag
Orion Children's Books
Dimensioner
129 x 201 x 23 mm
Vikt
326 g
ISBN
9781510101555
The Bone Sparrow (häftad)

The Bone Sparrow

Hope can set you free

Häftad Engelska, 2017-01-12
109
Skickas inom 7-10 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Winner of the CILIP Amnesty Honour 2017. Shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize and the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017. Perfect for fans of THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PYJAMAS. This is a beautiful, vivid and deeply moving story about a refugee boy who has spent his entire life living in a detention centre. This novel reminds us all of the importance of freedom, hope, and the power of a story to speak for anyone who's ever struggled to find a safe home. '...a special book' - Morris Gleitzman, author of the acclaimed ONCE series Born in a refugee camp, all Subhi knows of the world is that he's at least 19 fence diamonds high, the nice Jackets never stay long, and at night he dreams that the sea finds its way to his tent, bringing with it unusual treasures. And one day it brings him Jimmie. Carrying a notebook that she's unable to read and wearing a sparrow made out of bone around her neck - both talismans of her family's past and the mother she's lost - Jimmie strikes up an unlikely friendship with Subhi beyond the fence. As he reads aloud the tale of how Jimmie's family came to be, both children discover the importance of their own stories in writing their futures.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Bone Sparrow
  2. +
  3. Hell and High Water

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Hell and High Water av Tanya Landman (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 208 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Zana Fraillon

Recensioner i media

The Bone Sparrow is sweet and wonderful, but possibly the saddest 'camp' book I've ever read. * BookWitch * One of those rare, special books that will break your heart with its honesty and beauty, but is ultimately hopeful and uplifting * Book Trust * A heartrending tale about how our stories make us, and also an angry polemic, vividly convincing in its detailed description of what it means for your home to be a tent in the dust behind a guarded fence * The Sunday Times * This is quite simply a heart-rending, beautiful story... the story is woven by an author who is clearly passionately wanting to address an issue that is now so prevalent in our world; surely it cannot be ignored. This is a book that will make change happen. * Reading Zone * This is an important, heart-breaking book, with frequent,unexpected humour, that everyone, whether teenager or adult, should read * The Guardian.com * The Bone Sparrow - a vital and necessary book - should be in all schools throughout the UK and in the hand of every politician! -- Sean Edwards, YLG Librarian So beautiful. And so important... encourages empathy. For kids and adults alike! * The Book Addict blog * This book made me cry in Temple Gardens at page 21. Loving it * Grass for Dinner Blog * A heart-rending, beautiful story. From the first line I knew that I would be utterly moved by the words written so passionately, weaving a narrative that is at times difficult to read. This is a book that will make change happen * The Book Activist blog * Think of it as a powerful polemic, yes, but also think of it as a story of the redeeming power of friendship and the vital nature of storytelling * The Bookbag * What a powerful story. Detention camps are no place for children. No place for humans. -- Clare Hall-Craggs * Book Trust * An incredibly moving and powerful story about hope, freedom and survival. This is such an important topic, and a heart-achingly realistic story - everyone, both teenagers and adults, should read it. -- Rachel Meier, Waterstones Canterbury * Waterstones.com * Zana Fraillon's powerful and poetic tale of friendship in the face of injustice will fly away with your heart. * Katharine Marsh, Edgar Award-winning author of THE NIGHT TOURIST * The writing is beautiful and the message of survival and bravery a universal one * The Bookseller * a profoundly poignant novel about what it means to live as a refugee, neither inside nor out * METRO * A contender for the children's book of the year... It is a heartrending tale about how our stories make us, and also an angry polemic, vividly convincing in is detailed description of what it means for your home to be a tent in the dust behind a guarded fence. * The Sunday Times * Outstanding . . . This is an important, heartbreaking book with frequent, unexpected humour, that everyone, whether teenager or adult, should read. * Guardian * ...a special book * Morris Gleitzman, author of the acclaimed ONCE series * This story was heartbreaking, wonderful and devastating at the same time ... I would definitely recommend this book -- Iram Nawaz, Forrester High * Teen Titles * Lyrical, whimsical and magical, this beautiful book explores the power of storytelling * WRD About Books * I think The Bone Sparrow was really good and I would give it 5 stars -- Adam, aged 9 * Aquila Magazine * You would be hard pushed to find a book more harrowing and relevant than this one ... This book is a tough but beautiful read and is a perfect introduction to a really difficult topic * Inis * This is one of those novels which has to be written despite the pain and horror of its subject matter ... Subhi and Jimmie are drawn together and emotionally sustained by the power of stories and the written word and that's a powerful message * School Librarian * A beautiful story of hope and friendship * WRD About Books * This year many books have been published that tell sad stories about refugee children -- this is the best * The Times * A profoundly poignant novel *

Övrig information

Zana Fraillon worked as a primary school teacher before becoming a full-time writer of fiction and picture books for young children. She is the author of The Ones That Disappeared and The Bone Sparrow, which won the Amnesty CILIP Honour 2017, was shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal and Guardian Children's Book Prize, and has garnered widespread critical acclaim. Zana lives in Victoria, Australia, with her husband and three children.