Shuggie Bain (e-bok)
Format
E-bok
Filformat
EPUB med Adobe-kryptering
Om Adobe-kryptering
Nedladdning
Kan laddas ned under 24 månader, dock max 3 gånger.
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
448
Utgivningsdatum
2020-02-20
Förlag
Pan Macmillan
ISBN
9781529019308
Shuggie Bain (e-bok)

Shuggie Bain E-bok

Winner of the Booker Prize

(1 röst)
E-bok (EPUB - DRM), Engelska, 2020-02-20
142
Ladda ned och läs i en e-boksläsare. Tips på appar
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
Winner of the Booker PrizeWinner of 'Book of the Year' and 'Debut of the Year' at the British Book AwardsA BBC 'Big Jubilee Read''An amazingly intimate, compassionate, gripping portrait of addiction, courage and love.' - The judges of the Booker Prize'Douglas Stuart has written a first novel of rare and lasting beauty.' - ObserverIt is 1981. Glasgow is dying and good families must grift to survive. Agnes Bain has always expected more from life, dreaming of greater things. But Agnes is abandoned by her philandering husband, and as she descends deeper into drink, the children try their best to save her, yet one by one they must abandon her to save themselves.It is her son Shuggie who holds out hope the longest. Shuggie is different, he is clearly no' right. But Shuggie believes that if he tries his hardest, he can be normal like the other boys and help his mother escape this hopeless place.Shuggie Bain lays bare the ruthlessness of poverty, the limits of love, and the hollowness of pride. For readers of A Little Life and Angela's Ashes, it is a heartbreaking novel by a brilliant writer with a powerful and important story to tell.'A heartbreaking novel' - The Times'Tender and unsentimental . . . The Billy Elliot-ish character of Shuggie . . . leaps off the page.' - Daily Mail
Visa hela texten

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Douglas Stuart