The Long Call (cd-bok)
Format
CD-bok
Språk
Engelska
Inläsare
Ben Aldridge
Speltid
660m min
Utgivningsdatum
2019-09-05
Upplaga
Unabridged ed
Förlag
Macmillan
Dimensioner
122 x 149 x 23 mm
Vikt
252 g
ISBN
9781529035179
The Long Call (cd-bok)

The Long Call

CD-bok Engelska, 2019-09-05
236
  • Skickas inom 7-10 vardagar.
  • Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 6 format & utgåvor
The Long Call is the captivating first novel in the Two Rivers series from Sunday Times bestseller and creator of Vera and Shetland, Ann Cleeves. In North Devon, where the rivers Taw and Torridge converge and run into the sea, Detective Matthew Venn stands outside the church as his father's funeral takes place. The day Matthew turned his back on the strict evangelical community in which he grew up, he lost his family too. Now he's back, not just to mourn his father at a distance, but to take charge of his first major case in the Two Rivers region; a complex place not quite as idyllic as tourists suppose. A body has been found on the beach near to Matthew's new home: a man with the tattoo of an albatross on his neck, stabbed to death. Finding the killer is Venn's only focus, and his team's investigation will take him straight back into the community he left behind, and the deadly secrets that lurk there.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Long Call
  2. +
  3. The Seagull

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt The Seagull av Ann Cleeves (inbunden).

Köp båda 2 för 437 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Ann Cleeves

Recensioner i media

As a huge fan of both the Shetland and Vera series of books, I had high expectations for Cleeves' latest. She easily exceeded those expectations with The Long Call. Matthew Venn is a keeper. A stunning debut for Cleeves' latest crimefighter -- David Baldacci Had me hooked - a promising beginning to another fine chapter in the Ann Cleeves story * The Times * Clever, compassionate and atmospheric, with a great cast of new characters to love. I am already a Matthew Venn fan -- Elly Griffiths Ann Cleeves' new series gets off to a terrific start with The Long Call - her native Devon is wonderfully evoked, and Matthew Venn is a very appealing new detective. Another sure-fire hit -- Martin Edwards, author of <i>Gallows Court</i> Brilliant - a page-turning and sensitively told tale, with a vividly evoked North Devon setting, a powerful emotional heft and a new detective hero in Matthew Venn who you will want to follow for book after book. Wonderful! -- Chris Ewan, bestselling author of <i>Safe House</i> Unputdownable series debut! With an evocative setting, a gripping plot, and beautifully drawn characters, The Long Call is a terrific read-and Matthew Venn is my new favorite detective -- Deborah Crombie, <i>New York Times </i>bestselling author of <i>Garden of Lamentations</i> Who knew there could be a third detective as compelling as Vera and Jimmy? Matthew Venn is a triumph of Cleeves' particular blend of compassion and toughness and I already love him -- Catriona McPherson, national bestselling author of <i>Strangers at the Gate</i> Brilliant, thoughtful and deeply engaging -- Sara Paretsky, <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author of the V.I. Warshawski series Ann Cleeves has done it again! A new detective, a new series, another terrific puzzle of a story that won't let you go until the very end. Matthew Venn quickly earns his place beside Vera and Jimmy in a debut you don't want to miss: The Long Call -- Charles Todd, bestselling author of <i>The Black Ascot </i> In The Long Call, Ann Cleeves builds a prism of a world, multi-faceted, complex, and as brilliant as a diamond. Fans of Vera and Jimmy will love Matthew Venn -- Lori Rader-Day Ann Cleeves is a phenomenal talent. With unfailing skill, gorgeous setting, flawless plot and seamless voice, she brilliantly conjures new worlds in crime fiction. Her instantly iconic Detective Matthew Venn is a treasure - and we will all follow him anywhere -- Hank Phillippi Ryan A triumph that cements Cleeves' status as one of Britain's best crime writers * Daily Express * Cleeves combines a flair for evoking sense of place with a thoughtful, complex plot * Mail on Sunday * The troubled Venn is a great protagonist, and Cleeves may well have created her next top TV cop * Heat * Cleeves write of the left-behind and the unfortunate with intelligence and compassion * Literary Review * Murder, mystery and a great new cast of characters mean you won't be able to put this one down! * My Weekly * A traditional mystery of the best sort * Guardian * Hauntingly written, it evokes every possible emotion with Ann's gripping narrative * Woman *

Övrig information

Ann Cleeves is the author of over thirty critically acclaimed novels, and in 2017 was awarded the highest accolade in crime writing, the CWA Diamond Dagger. She is the creator of popular detectives Vera Stanhope and Jimmy Perez who can now be found on television in ITV's Vera and BBC One's Shetland. The TV series and the books they are based on have become international sensations, capturing the minds of millions worldwide. Ann worked as a probation officer, bird observatory cook, and auxiliary coastguard before she started writing. She is a member of 'Murder Squad', working with other British northern writers to promote crime fiction. Ann is also a passionate champion for libraries and was a National Libraries Day Ambassador in 2016. Ann lives in North Tyneside near where the Vera books are set.