The Rose Garden (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
432
Utgivningsdatum
2021-09-02
Förlag
Pan Books
Dimensioner
196 x 131 x 30 mm
Vikt
310 g
Antal komponenter
1
ISBN
9781529046373

The Rose Garden

Häftad,  Engelska, 2021-09-02
145
Billigast på PriceRunner
  • Skickas från oss inom 7-10 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
The Rose Garden is a richly imagined historical novel full of intrigue and secrets, spanning the luxury and poverty of Victorian England. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Rachel Hore. Every house has its secrets . . . For twelve-year-old Ottilie Finch, London is an exciting playground to explore. Her family have recently arrived in Hampstead from Durham, under a cloud of scandal that Otty is blissfully unaware of. The only shadow over her days is her mothers mysterious illness, which keeps her to her room. When young local girl Mabs is offered the chance to become Mrs Finchs companion, it saves her from a desperate life on the canals. Little does she know that all is not as picture-perfect as it seems. Mabs is about to become tangled in the secrets that chased the Finches from their last home, and trapped in an impossible dilemma . . . Tracy Rees is a natural storyteller . . . What a treat it is! Rachel Hore, author of A Gathering Storm. 'In this engrossing novel Tracy Rees takes the reader directly into the drama and action . . . the roles and attitudes to women at the end of the Victorian period and the emerging womens movement were riveting. Totally unputdownable' Dinah Jefferies, author of The Tea-Planters Wife.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Rose Garden
  2. +
  3. Everything I Know About Love

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Everything I Know About Love av Dolly Alderton (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 274 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Tracy Rees

Recensioner i media

In this engrossing novel Tracy Rees takes the reader directly into the drama and action, her writing bringing every scene to sparkling vivid life. The rich use of language meant I was fully immersed in the Victorian world of the main women protagonists and didnt want to leave. Written with empathy and revealing differing sides to even more minor characters, the roles and attitudes to women at the end of the Victorian period and the emerging womens movement were riveting. Totally unputdownable. -- Dinah Jefferies, author of <i>The Sapphire Widow</i> A warm, original and upbeat novel. Tracy Rees is a natural storyteller and I couldnt stop turning the pages. I loved the setting of Victorian Hampstead and its vivid range of characters. What a treat it is! -- Rachel Hore, author of <i>A Place of Secrets</i>, on <i>The Rose Garden</i> Tracy Rees has a rare gift for creating characters you are rooting for from the first page. The writing is fresh and engaging, with a gentle humour...the research is meticulous, and the womens stories are told with immense compassion. This is a novel that immerses you in its world as if by magic, and keeps you enthralled till the very end. -- Gill Paul, author of <i>The Secret Wife</i>, on <i>The Rose Garden</i> Beautifully written and vividly imagined, The Rose Garden strikes the perfect balance between period drama to savour and compelling escapism to devour. Tracy Rees has such a talent for writing engaging characters who stay with you. I loved it! -- Hazel Gaynor, author of <i>The Girl Who Came Home</i>, on <i>The Rose Garden</i> A rich, compelling and intricate tapestry of womens lives . . . their wants, needs and dreams through the characters diverse lives. I couldnt put it down. -- Liz Fenwick, author of <i>The Cornish House</i>, on <i>The Rose Garden</i> A rich historical drama that is both a subtle study of the treatment of women and an entertaining escape. Pure joy. -- Jo Spain, author of <i>Dirty Little Secrets</i>, on <i>The Rose Garden</i> such a treat ... I loved Tracys elegant writing and the vivid and relatable characters, and historically-rich story...wonderful and uplifting. -- Nicola Cornick, author of <i>House of Shadows</i> on <i>The Rose Garden</i> Its so wonderful, so poignant and oh, the history. I loved delving into these womens lives, their loves, their individual and very different and difficult plights. Its eye opening and entertaining and moving all at the same time. Bravo to Tracy. I cant wait to see this book fly. -- Lorna Cook, author of <i>The Forgotten Village</i>, on <i>The Rose Garden</i> [A] truly captivating tale of female friendship, courage and empowerment, all wrapped up in the wonderful escapism of an exquisite period drama -- Samantha King on <i>The Rose Garden</i> The Rose Garden is an absolute delight to read and holds you spellbound from cover to cover. Full of wonderful characters woven into a story that tugs at your heartstrings, this is a truly beautiful novel that confirms Tracy Rees is at the height of her game. -- Rebecca Griffiths on <i>The Rose Garden</i> [G]orgeously written, deeply atmospheric, tense and vivid and a total page-turner. -- Jenny Ashcroft on <i>The Rose Garden</i> The Rose Garden is full of hope and infectious optimism - just the thing for now! -- Kate Griffin on <i>The Rose Garden</i> The Rose Garden is a joy. Through its cast of memorable female characters, this novel sets the fight for justice against all the colour and optimism which is so characteristic of Tracy Rees' writing. -- Rebecca F John on <i>The Rose Garden</i> Tracys writing is so fresh, original and authentic -- Bestselling author Rosanna Ley Tracy Rees writes from the heart -- Bestselli

Övrig information

Tracy Rees, author of The House at Silvermoor, was the first winner of the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller competition. She has also won the Love Stories Best Historical Read award and been shortlisted for the RNA Epic Romantic Novel of the Year. A Cambridge graduate, Tracy had a successful career in non-fiction publishing before retraining for a second career practising and teaching humanistic counselling. She has also been a waitress, bartender, shop assistant, estate agent, classroom assistant and workshop leader. Tracy divides her time between the Gower Peninsula of South Wales and London.