Dirt Town (häftad)
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
368
Utgivningsdatum
2023-03-30
Förlag
Pan Books
Dimensioner
197 x 130 x 25 mm
Vikt
260 g
Antal komponenter
1
Komponenter
B-format paperback
ISBN
9781529080285

Dirt Town

Winner of the Crime Writers' Association New Blood Dagger Award 2023

Häftad,  Engelska, 2023-03-30
145
  • Skickas från oss på måndag
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
*Winner of the Crime Writers' Association New Blood Dagger Award 2023* Twelve year-old Esther Bianchi disappears on her way home from school in the small town of Durton and the truth will not come easily. Dirt Town by Hayley Scrivenor is an atmospheric crime novel set in rural Australia. 'A heart-wrenching mystery' Jane Harper, author of The Dry 'A stunning debut' - Ann Cleeves THE DETECTIVE As the community is thrown into a state of grief and suspicion, Detective Sergeant Sarah Michaels begins her investigation into the disappearance of Esther Bianchi. She questions those who knew the girl, attempting to unpick the secrets which bind them together. THE MOTHER The girls mother, Constance, believes that her daughter going missing is the worst thing that can happen to her. But as the search for Esther develops, she learns that things can always get worse. THE FRIENDS Ronnie is Esthers best friend and is determined to bring her home. So when her classmate Lewis tells her that he saw Esther with a strange man at the creek the afternoon she went missing, Ronnie feels she is one step closer to finding her. But why is Lewis refusing to speak to the police? And who else is keeping quiet about what happened to Esther? Dirt Town by Hayley Scrivenor is perfect for fans of Jane Harper's The Dry and Chris Whitaker's We Begin at the End. 'I couldnt turn the pages fast enough' Chris Whitaker, author of We Begin at the End 'A powerful story, shot through with moments of horror and tenderness' The Times 'Dirt Town deserves its praise' Guardian
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Dirt Town
  2. +
  3. 1984 & Animal farm

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt 1984 & Animal farm av George Orwell (inbunden).

Köp båda 2 för 194 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Hayley Scrivenor

  • Dirt Creek

    Hayley Scrivenor

    In Hayley Scrivenor's Dirt Creek , a small-town debut mystery described as The Dry meets Everything I Never Told You , a girl goes missing and a community falls apart and comes together. When twelve-year-old Esther disappears on the way home from ...

  • Dinge, die wir brennen sahen

    Hayley Scrivenor

    Ein sengend heißer Freitagnachmittag in Durton, einer Kleinstadt im ländlichen Australien: Ronnie und Esther, beste Freundinnen, fahren gemeinsam nach der Schule nach Hause - doch nur Ronnie kommt schließlich dort an. Die zwölfjährige Esther bleib...

Recensioner i media

A heart-wrenching mystery, Hayley Scrivenors remarkable sense of place brings Dirt Town to life. A stellar debut -- Jane Harper, bestselling author of <i>The Dry</i> A stunning debut. Achingly atmospheric, thrilling and heartfelt, I couldnt turn the pages fast enough -- Chris Whitaker, internationally bestselling author of <i>We Begin at the End</i> Beautifully written, compassionate, with an entirely credible but heart-breaking ending. A stunning debut -- Ann Cleeves, <i>The Sunday Times </i>bestselling author of Vera and Shetland Dirt Town deserves its praise. It is an intelligent novel, one that grapples with complex social and political dynamics, and brings a fresh voice to familiar narratives * Guardian * [A] deeply impressive first novel . . . It is a powerful story, shot through with moments of horror and tenderness, and another devastating indictment of the outback mentality * The Times * Best crime debut in ages, Hayley Scrivenor is a major new talent. Page-turning, heart-breaking, gut-wrenching stuff. I cant remember when I enjoyed a book so much -- Erin Kelly, <i>The Sunday Times</i> bestselling author of <i>He Said/She Said</i> Masterful. Australian crime has a new star. The characters of Dirt Town are rich, raw and beautifully realized. One of the crime books of the year. Intelligent, nuanced and compassionate -- Chris Hammer, bestselling author of <i>Scrublands</i> A chilling and darkly atmospheric novel. I literally couldnt put it down. -- Ruth Hogan, <i>Sunday Times</i> bestselling author of <i>The Keeper of Lost Things</i> Raw and intimate, Hayley Scrivenor unpacks small town life and its tragedies with heart and prowess -- Anna Bailey, author of <i>Tall Bones</i> Evocative, immersive, heart-breaking and ultimately hopeful. In a word, brilliant -- Sarah Hilary, author of <i>Fragile</i> A gripping mystery told in authentic and innovative fashion, Dirt Town will keep you engrossed. Hayley Scrivenor is an exciting new voice and an author to watch -- Adam Hamdy, <i>The Sunday Times</i> bestselling author of the Scott Pearce series and the Private series (with James Patterson) Dirt Town is a remarkable debut, Hayley Scrivenor is masterful in her deft handling of the tensions underpinning a small, regional town, and the complex characters that populate it. You will not be able to put it down -- Hannah Kent, author of <i>Devotion</i> and <i>Burial Rites</i> I loved it. Brilliantly written, evocative and touching -- Charlotte Levin, author of <i>If I Can't Have You</i> and <i>If I Let You Go</i> Broadchurch but in a scorched, dying town in rural Australia. Immersive, sweeping and superb -- Catherine Ryan Howard, author of <i>The Trap</i> and <i>56 Days</i> [An] exceptional slice of outback noir * i online *

Övrig information

Hayley Scrivenor is a former director of Wollongong Writers Festival. Originally from a small country town, Hayley now lives and writes on Dharawal country and has a PhD in Creative Writing from the University of Wollongong on the south coast of New South Wales. Dirt Town is her first novel. An earlier version of the book was shortlisted for the Penguin Literary Prize and won the Kill Your Darlings Unpublished Manuscript Award.