Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
368
Utgivningsdatum
2022-09-08
Förlag
Penguin (Transworld)
Översättare
Philip Gabriel
Originalspråk
Japanese
Dimensioner
198 x 127 x 30 mm
Vikt
350 g
Komponenter
B-format paperback
ISBN
9781529176667

Lonely Castle in the Mirror

The no. 1 Japanese bestseller and Guardian 2021 highlight

Häftad,  Engelska, 2022-09-08
139
Billigast på PriceRunner
  • Skickas från oss inom 2-5 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
**PRE-ORDER THE AUTHOR'S PUZZLEBOX BESTSELLER, LOST SOULS MEET UNDER A FULL MOON** _________ For fans of BEFORE THE COFFEE GETS COLD, fairy tale and magic are weaved together in sparse language that belies a flooring emotional punch. 'Strange and beautiful. Imagine the offspring of The Wind-up Bird Chronicle with The Virgin Suicides' GUARDIAN 'Genuinely affecting. A story of empathy, collaboration and sharing truths' FINANCIAL TIMES Translated by Philip Gabriel, a translator of Murakami _______________________________ Would you share your deepest secrets to save a friend? In a tranquil neighbourhood of Tokyo, seven teenagers wake to find their bedroom mirrors are shining. At a single touch, they are pulled from their lonely lives to a wondrous castle filled with winding stairways, watchful portraits and twinkling chandeliers. In this new sanctuary, they are confronted with a set of clues leading to a hidden room where one of them will be granted a wish. But there's a catch: if they don't leave the castle by five o'clock, they will be punished. As time passes, a devastating truth emerges: only those brave enough to share their stories will be saved. Tender, playful, gripping, LONELY CASTLE IN THE MIRROR is a mesmerizing tale about the importance of reaching out, confronting anxiety and embracing human connection. Readers love LONELY CASTLE IN THE MIRROR: ***** 'This book has become one of my favourite Japanese reads of all time . . . A magical heartfelt read that will stay with you' ***** 'Unexpected, beautiful and heart-breaking . . . this is a work of fiction which reaches into the heart of a modern problem and has valuable insight' ***** 'Rich and vivid.This book is a symbol that 'there is always hope'
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Lonely Castle in the Mirror
  2. +
  3. Powerless

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Powerless av Lauren Roberts (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 260 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Mizuki Tsujimura

Recensioner i media

A surge of Japanese women are redefining their nation's literature * VOGUE * Strange and beautiful. Imagine the offspring of The Wind-up Bird Chronicle with The Virgin Suicides * GUARDIAN * A moving, reflective and surprising novel... anyone who has ever struggled with feeling isolated, had difficulties at school, or had mental health struggles, will find this novel to be a cleansing balm. * CULTUREFLY * Neat twists and a genuinely affecting denouement. A story of empathy, collaboration and sharing truths, this is 'a modern, all-ages fairy tale' that should appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman and Studio Ghibli animations * FINANCIAL TIMES * There's a warmth to her writing, and Tsujimura has a mature ability to allow the story to speak for itself without narrative * JAPAN TIMES * An original and tender blend of social commentary and magical realism * THE JAPAN SOCIETY REVIEW *

Övrig information

Mizuki Tsujimura (Author) MIZUKI TSUJIMURA is the much-loved author of million-copy-bestselling mystery and puzzlebox novels. Lost Souls Meet Under a Full Moon explores our relationship with the memories of deceased loved ones and what gives our lives meaning. It was made into a high-budget Japanese-language film and won a newcomer award. Its sequel, How to Hold Someone in Your Heart, was also a huge bestseller, cementing the appeal of Tsujimuras unique combination of emotion, mystery and magic. She is the author of the groundbreaking novel Lonely Castle in the Mirror, which was also adapted for anime and manga and which combines real-world fantasy with important themes of mental health and friendship. Tsujimura has won many awards, including the Japan Booksellers' Award and the Naoki Prize, and is published worldwide. English-language editions of many of her works, including True Mothers, Entangled and Entitled (soon to be a major Japanese-language film called Arrogance and Virtue), The Made-to-Order Club and Summer of Amber, are due to be published soon. Philip Gabriel (Translator) Philip Gabriel is the author of Mad Wives and Island Dreams: Shimao Toshio and the Margins of Japanese Literature and Spirit Matters: The Transcendent in Modern Japanese Literature and has translated many novels and short stories by the writer Haruki Murakami and other modern writers. He is recipient of the Japan-U.S. Friendship Commission Prize for the Translation of Japanese Literature (2001) for his translation of Senji Kurois Life in the Cul-de-Sac, and the 2006 PEN/Book-of-the-Month Club Translation Prize for his translation of Murakami's Kafka on the Shore.