Miracle Creek (inbunden)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Inbunden (Hardback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
368
Utgivningsdatum
2019-07-25
Förlag
Hodder & Stoughton
Dimensioner
235 x 173 x 33 mm
Vikt
592 g
ISBN
9781529374940
Miracle Creek (inbunden)

Miracle Creek

A TIME Must-Read Book of 2019

Inbunden Engelska, 2019-07-25
209
Skickas inom 5-8 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 2 format & utgåvor
'That wonderful, brilliant sort of book you want to shove at people as soon as you've finished so they can experience it for themselves' Erin Morgenstern A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we'll go to protect our families - and our deepest secrets. In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine - a pressurised oxygen chamber that patients enter for "dives", used as an alternative therapy for conditions including autism and infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos' small community. Who or what caused the explosion? Was it the mother of one of the patients, who claimed to be sick that day but was smoking down by the creek? Or was it Young and Pak themselves, hoping to cash in on a big insurance payment and send their daughter to college? The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that night: trysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse charges, as well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice. Angie Kim's Miracle Creek is a thoroughly contemporary take on the courtroom drama, drawing on the author's own life as a Korean immigrant, former trial lawyer, and mother of a real-life "submarine" patient. Both a compelling page-turner and an excavation of identity and the desire for connection, Miracle Creek is a brilliant, empathetic debut from an exciting new voice.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Miracle Creek
  2. +
  3. The Whisper Man

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt The Whisper Man av Alex North (inbunden).

Köp båda 2 för 366 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Recensioner i media

A story that's both murder mystery and reflection on otherness * TIME * The story of the disaster twists and turns from the beginning... The whole makes for gripping reading, with characters whose concerns are brought vividly to life * Crime Review * Miracle Creek grabbed me hard right from the start. This is a terrific courtroom thriller, a sly whodunit that's beautifully written and also full of heart -- Scott Turow Stellar . . . Full of texture and humanity, with a gripping mystery at its centre, Miracle Creek is an excellent debut. Angie Kim is one to watch * CultureFly * Like a Law & Order episode tossed into an immigrant's bildungsroman, Miracle Creek has the heart of a Celeste Ng novel and the pacing of a thriller * Vulture * Great for book club... In Miracle Creek, Angie Kim (a former trial lawyer) delivers a propulsive courtroom drama * Real Simple * Stunning . . . an utterly engrossing mail-biter of a courtroom drama * Nylon Magazine * A stand-out, twisty debut...Kim, a former lawyer, clearly knows her stuff...a masterfully plotted novel about the joys and pains of motherhood, the trick mirror nature of truth, and the unforgiving nature of justice. * Publishers Weekly * Miracle Creek is an engrossing puzzle-box of a book: a twisty courtroom drama that also manages to be emotionally astute, culturally perceptive, and deeply empathetic. Angie Kim tackles hot-button subjects with a delicate touch, proving herself a master of both portraiture and storytelling. I loved this novel. -- Janelle Brown Miracle Creek is a marvel, a taut courtroom thriller that ultimately tells the most human story imaginable, a story of good intentions and reckless passions. Compelling, generous, at once empathetic and unsparing. I am wrecked, I am heartened and hopeful, which means, in short, that Miracle Creek is pretty much the perfect novel for these chaotic times in which we live. -- Laura Lippman I know this story but have never seen it in a novel - the struggles of the Korean immigrant entrepreneur in America, with a technology that seems like magic, who can go from hero to villain in an instant, now at the center of what is possibly a murder - a bright seam of crisis, mystery, and love emerges in these pages. Kim has written a bold debut novel about science and immigration and the hopes and fears each engenders?unforgettable and true. -- Alexander Chee With so many complications and loose ends, one of the miracles of the novel is that the author ties it all together and arrives at a deeply satisfying?though not easy or sentimental?ending. Intricate plotting and courtroom theatrics, combined with moving insight into parenting special needs children and the psychology of immigrants, make this book both a learning experience and a page-turner. Should be huge. * Kirkus * A powerful and intriguing courtroom drama, which will resonate with readers who enjoyed Little Fires Everywhere * Irish Times * Engrossing . . . Miracle Creek turns a courtroom murder trial into a page-turning exploration of parenting, experimental therapies, and the emotional toil of immigration * Elle * With twists and turns at every chapter, this will leave you gripped - especially with its didn't-see-that-coming ending * Heat * Miracle Creek is a tense, addictive and brilliantly written story of small-town secrets * Stylist * Combining the tense atmosphere of a courtroom drama with a moving study of the sacrifices that parents are prepared to make for their children, Angie Kim's debut is pacey and thought-provoking. * Sunday Express, S Magazine * I picked up MIRACLE CREEK and literally couldn't put it down. It's that wonderful, brilliant sort of book you want to shove at other people as soon as you've finished so they can experience it for themselves. -- Erin Morgenstern

Bloggat om Miracle Creek

Övrig information

Angie Kim moved as a preteen from Seoul, South Korea, to the suburbs of Baltimore. She attended Stanford University and Harvard Law School, where she was an editor of the Harvard Law Review, then practiced as a trial lawyer at Williams & Connolly. Her stories have won the Glamour Essay Contest and the Wabash Prize in Fiction, and appeared in numerous publications including The New York Times, Salon, Slate, The Southern Review, Sycamore Review, The Asian American Literary Review, and PANK. She lives in northern Virginia with her husband and three sons. MIRACLE CREEK is her first novel.