The Home (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Svenska
Antal sidor
400
Utgivningsdatum
2021-04-29
Förlag
Jo Fletcher Books
Översättare
Agnes Broome
Originalspråk
Swedish
Dimensioner
198 x 130 x 24 mm
Vikt
280 g
Antal komponenter
1
ISBN
9781529402155
The Home (häftad)

The Home

A brilliantly creepy novel about possession, friendship and loss: 'Good characters, clever story, plenty of scares - admit yourself to The Home right now' says horror master John Ajvide Lindqvist

Häftad,  Svenska, 2021-04-29
149
  • Skickas från oss inom 7-10 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Once inseparable, Joel and Nina haven't spoken in twenty years. When Joel's mother Monika develops dementia, he has no choice but to return to his home town. Monika needs specialist care, and that means Pineshade - which also means Joel is going to have to deal with his one-time best friend, for Nina works there. It's not long before Monika's health deteriorates - she starts having violent, terrifying outbursts, and worse, she appears to know things she couldn't possibly know. It's almost as if she isn't herself any more . . . but of course, that's true of most of the residents at Pineshade. Only Nina and Joel know Monika well enough to see the signs; only by working together can they try to find answers to the inexplicable . . . The Home is an eerie story about love, friendship and the greatest fear of all: losing control of ourselves . . .
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Home
  2. +
  3. X Ways to Die

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt X Ways to Die av Stefan Ahnhem (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 268 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Mats Strandberg

Recensioner i media

This elegant Swedish slow-burner is imbued with horror interwoven with regret, guilt, memory and shame. * Metro * Good characters, clever story, plenty of scares. A great read. Admit yourself to The Home right now. * John Ajvide Lindqvist, author of Let the Right One In * With The Home Mats Strandberg nails his position as one of the best Swedish horror writers * Sknska Dagbladet * With a never-failing humanism and a deep understanding of the genre, The Home is the true proof that Sweden has a new horror king * City/SWE * Mats Strandberg is marvellous when he lets us feel the approaching catastrophe: we feel an ice-cold chill . . . Psychology, guilt and painful secrets * Tara * The Home gives me goosebumps along my arms all the way up my shoulders, and shows that there is no need for armies of aliens, zombies or blood-sucking foxes. A different voice is just enough * Expressen * What a storyteller! The characters' failures, love stories, everyday matters, insights and shortcomings shimmer in his hands: the very ordinary life becomes a little bit more beautiful. And yes, the horrifying becomes much more horrifying than in reality as well. Although it is the shimmer that stays with you when the book is over * DAGENS NYHETER (Sweden's biggest morning newspaper) * Very cinematic, and with characters who have real psychological depth. Mats Strandberg scares his readers in a most refined way. This is a brilliant story * SVT * Strandberg's ability to capture everyday life and environments and to create personalities wins * Sveriges Radio * Mats Strandberg is a literary cult waiting to happen: a must-read for fans of Stephen King and John Ajvide Lindqvist (Let the Right One In) * Elizabeth Hand, author of Generation Loss and Hard Light * What can make a horror story stand out from the rest of the pack is when It hits home in a personal way, when an unnatural twist could be a very close reality. That's the case in this Sweden-set story . . . This one will upset you while making you fill your pants * Weekend Sport * A strange and satisfyingly creepy novel which unravelled in the most unique of settings . . . enjoyable, addictive, unique and chilling . . . this story dug right beneath my skin and remained there long after I turned the final page * The Book Babe * Mat Strandberg doesn't disappoint, even though it was a bittersweet ending. This one's going to stay with me for a bit; not because of the horrors unknown, but for the horrors that lurk just around the corner * Nest of Books * A strange and satisfyingly creepy novel which unravelled in the most unique of settings * THE BOOK BABE *

Övrig information

Mats Strandberg, an award-winning writer of adult, YA and children's fiction, was born in the small industrial town of Fagersta, in the northwest of Sweden; the place inspired Engelsfors, the setting for the internationally bestselling YA fantasy Engelfors Trilogy (with co-author Sara B. Elfgren). The Circle, Fire and The Key (UK: Cornerstone; US: Overlook Press), are published in 30 countries, and ABBA founder Benny Andersson has turned the first book, The Circle, into a hit movie. Blood Cruise, his fourth solo novel, is a top ten bestseller across Europe; a film/television adaptation is currently in development. His award-winning journalism won him Columnist of the Year for his regular columns for Aftonbladet, Sweden's biggest evening newspaper. You can find Mats on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/matsstrandbergofficial and on Twitter at @matsstrandberg_