Labyrinth of the Past (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Antal sidor
BetterLink Press Incorporated
Cissy Zhao
Jiren, Wang
177 x 127 x 12 mm
204 g
Antal komponenter
Labyrinth of the Past (häftad)

Labyrinth of the Past

Häftad Engelska, 2014-10-29
Specialorder (osäker tillgång). Skickas inom 11-20 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Labyrinth of the Past is a collection of short stories that explore the lives of young women raised by single mothers in China, a country that is unforgiving to unmarried women and their children. A dark, yet engrossing look at the lives of these girls, each story examines their personal struggles with family and the greater world around them. Coping with the stigma of being the daughter of a single mother, most of these women can't seem to form anything but dysfunctional relationships, from mothers to friends to lovers. While often frank and terribly bleak, these stories provide a vivid and real view of the women who struggle against a history they can't change, in a culture that has difficulty accepting them.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Labyrinth of the Past
  2. +
  3. Game Point

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Game Point av Xiao Bai, Wang Jiren (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 278 kr


Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Recensioner i media

"I came to find Zhang Yiwei's depictions of childhood to be one of its biggest strengths. Her ability to evoke its timelessness, the sense of children's whole worlds confined to just a few streets and fields, and our fuzzy, malleable memories of that phase of our lives is really quite remarkable (frankly, it immediately reminded me of the magic realism of 100 Years of Solitude)" --The Grand Narrative blog

Bloggat om Labyrinth of the Past

Övrig information

Zhang Yiwei is a writer with the Shanghai Writers Association. She won the first prize for Fiction at the 38th Hong Kong Youth Literary Awards and the 33rd Taiwan China Times Literary Award. Her publications include the novels The Night You Don't Know (2012), Next Stop Xidan (2010) and Awakening (2009), and the collection of short stories Wait Up, Time.