History 1, Cubs 0 (e-bok)
EPUB med Adobe-kryptering
Om Adobe-kryptering
Kan laddas ned under 24 månader, dock max 3 gånger.
History 1, Cubs 0 (e-bok)

History 1, Cubs 0 (e-bok)

A Historical Perspective of the Chicago Cubs Championship Drought

E-bok (EPUB - DRM), Engelska, 2012-12-15
Laddas ned direkt
Läs i vår app för iPhone, iPad och Android
The Chicago Cubs last won the World Series in 1908, only the fifth World Series ever played. Going into next year's 2013 season, it will be at least 105 years before the Cubs win their next World Series. This championship drought already is longer than the entire existence of the National Hockey League (1917), the National Football League (1920), and the National Basketball Association (1946). Obviously, Cubs fans are the only baseball fans or sports fans to experience a championship drought this extensive. For example, five generations of my mother's side of my family have lived (and many have died) in the United States without the Cubs ever winning another World Series championship. As unique as is the Chicago Cubs championship drought, History 1, Cubs 0 is equally unique. Rather than minimize the extent and effect of this drought, this book explores it in depth. Decade by decade, each chapter progressively lists the events that are closer in time to the Cubs 1908 championship than we are to it today (e.g., the War 0f 1812, Jefferson's presidency, the Lewis and Clark expedition, etc.), and it then lists the events that have happened since 1908 (e.g., World War I, General Motors, Monopoly, television, etc.). Events include all World Series winners, presidents, statehoods, historical events - world, U.S., Illinois and Chicago, baseball and sports historic performances, inventions, etc. The index alone lists over 2,300 events by year!
Visa hela texten


Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av James M O'Brien