The Last Hours (häftad)
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
576
Utgivningsdatum
2018-06-07
Upplaga
Main
Förlag
Allen & Unwin
Dimensioner
179 x 150 x 36 mm
Vikt
412 g
Komponenter
,
ISBN
9781760632144
The Last Hours (häftad)

The Last Hours

A sweeping, utterly gripping historical novel for fans of Kate Mosse and Julian Fellowes

Häftad Engelska, 2018-06-07
90
Skickas inom 2-5 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige över 149 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
When the Black Death enters England through the port of Melcombe in Dorseteshire in June 1348, no one knows what manner of sickness it is or how it spreads and kills so quickly. The Church proclaims it a punishment from God but Lady Anne of Develish has different ideas. With her brutal husband absent, she decides on more sensible ways to protect her people than the daily confessions of sin recommended by the Bishop. Anne gathers her serfs within the gates of Develish and refuses entry to outsiders, even to her husband.She makes an enemy of her daughter by doing so, but her resolve is strengthened by the support of her leading serfs ... until food stocks run low and the nerves of all are tested by their ignorance of what is happening in the world outside. The people of Develish are alive. But for how long? And what will they discover when the time comes for them to cross the moat? Compelling and suspenseful, The Last Hours is a riveting tale of human ingenuity and endurance against the worst pandemic known to history. In Lady Anne of Develish - leader, saviour, heretic - Walters has created her most memorable heroine to date.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Last Hours
  2. +
  3. The Cellar

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt The Cellar av Minette Walters (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 199 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Recensioner i media

Historical novels depend upon the writer's ability to create a credible past world and Walters manages this very well...This is an ideal read for those who just want a good story well told. Snuggle up in a chair on a cold winter night and enjoy. * nudge-book.com * A seductive writer with an imagination that makes her dangerous to know * Sunday Express * A vividly-wrought and powerful story. With The Last Hours, Minette Walters has brought her impressive skill as a writer of psychological crime to create a dark and gripping depiction of Medieval England in the jaws of the Black Death. * Elizabeth Fremantle on The Last Hours * Minette Walters is a master at building engrossing tales around a single, life-shattering event. * Washington Post * An enthralling account of a calamitous time, and above all a wonderful testimony to the strength of the human spirit. I was caught from the first page. * Julian Fellowes on The Last Hours * Wonderful and sweeping, with a fabulous sense of place and history * Kate Mosse on The Last Hours * A staggeringly talented writer. * Guardian * Atmosphere, imagination and narrative power of which few other writers are capable * The Times *

Bloggat om The Last Hours

Övrig information

Minette Walters is one of the world's best-selling crime writers. She is the author of twelve novels, winning the CWA John Creasey Award for The Ice House, the Edgar Allan Poe Award in America for The Sculptress and two CWA Gold Daggers for The Scold's Bridle and Fox Evil. The Last Hours marks an exciting new direction for Minette. She lives in Dorset with her husband.