Lloyd George (inbunden)
Inbunden (Hardback)
Antal sidor
I.B. Tauris
8 bw in 8pp plates
22 bw in 8pp plates
222 x 146 x 25 mm
476 g
Antal komponenter
Lloyd George (inbunden)

Lloyd George

Statesman or Scoundrel

Inbunden Engelska, 2018-01-19
Skickas inom 2-5 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige för privatpersoner.
David Lloyd George left a profound political legacy, despite being described by the wife of his successor, Herbert Asquith, as a 'gambler without foresight'. He is, of course, best known as the Prime Minister who led Britain to victory in World War I, but his contribution to domestic politics was similarly impressive. As Chancellor of the Exchequer he introduced pensions and national insurance against sickness and unemployment, while as Prime Minister he extended democracy by giving votes to women. Yet Lloyd George was compromised by his flaws as a human being. Vain, cruel, capricious and dishonest, at times his notoriously corrupt nature threatened to damage the British political system. Providing a unique new perspective on one of the most phenomenally-talented - but also one of the most phenomenally-flawed - of British Prime Ministers, this book will be essential reading for anyone interested in modern British politics and history.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Lloyd George
  2. +
  3. Access To History: Louis XIV, France and Europe 1661-1715 2nd Edition

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Access To History: Louis XIV, France and Europe... av Richard Wilkinson (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 558 kr


Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Recensioner i media

It is indeed a relief to read these speeches again and to be excited by their content, in comparison with the flat TV sofa experiences we endure today. * Journal of Liberal History *

Bloggat om Lloyd George

Övrig information

Richard Wilkinson is the author of Louis XIV and a contributor to History Today. He holds a PhD from University of Hull and is a former teacher.


Introduction From Llanystumdwy to Westminster (1863-1890) The Iconoclast (1890-1905) The Social Revolutionary (1905-1914) Ascent to the War Office (1914-1916) `The Man who Won the War' `Homes fit for Heroes' (1918-1922) The Goat in the Wilderness (1922-1945) Conclusion