Those Who Forget (häftad)
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Antal sidor
Pushkin Press
Laura Marris
Those Who Forget (häftad)

Those Who Forget

One Family's Story; A Memoir, a History, a Warning

Häftad Engelska, 2021-04-01
  • Skickas inom 5-8 vardagar.
  • Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 2 format & utgåvor
During the war, Geraldine Schwarz's grandparents were neither heroes nor villains - they just followed the current. Afterwards they wanted to forget, to bury it all under the wreckage of the Third Reich. But decades later, delving through the basement of their apartment building, Geraldine discovers that her grandfather Karl profited from the forced 'Aryanisation' of Jewish businesses - and so she is compelled to investigate her ancestors' past. On her mother's side, she delves into the role of her French grandfather, a policeman during the Vichy regime. How guilty were they? Combining generations of family stories with the history of Europe's post-war reckoning, Geraldine asks: how did Germans transform their collective guilt into democratic responsibility? And, given rising populism in Europe today, how can we ensure we learn from history?
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Those Who Forget
  2. +
  3. The Reason for the Darkness of the Night

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt The Reason for the Darkness of the Night av John Tresch (inbunden).

Köp båda 2 för 398 kr


Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Geraldine Schwarz

  • Die Gedachtnislosen

    Geraldine Schwarz

    Geraldine Schwarz schreibt mit &quote;Die Gedachtnislosen&quote; Geschichte, europaische Geschichte. Ihre hochaktuelle These: Die rechtpopulistischen Stromungen in Europa lassen sich damit erklaren, wie der Kontinent nach dem letzten groen Krieg s...

Övrig information

Geraldine Schwarz is a German-French journalist, author and documentary filmmaker based in Berlin. Those Who Forget, an account of her family's complicity with fascism, is her first book. It has been translated into eight languages and won the European Book Prize 2018, the Winfried Preis and the Nord-Sud Prize.