The Lavender House (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
432
Utgivningsdatum
2017-02-09
Förlag
Quercus Publishing
Dimensioner
198 x 128 x 26 mm
Vikt
302 g
ISBN
9781784294144
The Lavender House (häftad)

The Lavender House

Häftad Engelska, 2017-02-09
99
Skickas inom 7-10 vardagar.
Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
  • Laddas ned direkt
    30
  • Skickas inom 11-20 vardagar (specialorder)
    152
Visa alla 2 format & utgåvor
Emotional, page-turning women's fiction from the author of #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER, THURSDAYS IN THE PARK. Beautiful storytelling for fans of Erica James, Veronica Henry and Harriet Evans. 'Boyd is as canny as Joanna Trollope at observing family life - and better than Trollope at jokes' Daily Mail Nancy de Freitas is the glue that holds her family together. Caught between her ageing, ailing mother Frances, and her struggling daughter Louise, frequent user of Nancy's babysitting services, it seems Nancy's fate is to quietly go on shouldering the burden of responsibility for all four generations. Her divorce four years ago put paid to any thoughts of a partner to share her later years with. Now it looks like her family is all she has. Then she meets Jim. Smoker, drinker, unsuccessful country singer and wearer of cowboy boots, he should be completely unsuited to the very together Nancy. And yet, there is a real spark. But Nancy's family don't trust Jim one bit. They're convinced he'll break her heart, maybe run off with her money - he certainly distracts her from her family responsibilities. Can she be brave enough to follow her heart? Or will she remain glued to her family's side and walk away from one last chance for love?
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Lavender House
  2. +
  3. Shuggie Bain

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Shuggie Bain av Douglas Stuart (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 214 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Hilary Boyd

Recensioner i media

Warm-hearted and with a beady eye, Boyd gets under the skin of her characters to show that falling in love isn't limited to the young * Sunday Express * A warm-hearted story of families, trust and second-chance love * Sunday Mirror * Hilary Boyd in her inimitable fashion has told the story yet again of mature love which, like an excellent vintage wine, is just waiting to burst out of its barrels * My Weekly * Boyd is as canny as Joanna Trollope at observing family life - and better than Trollope at jokes * Daily Mail * A gentle but emotionally charged drama * Sunday Mirror * I found myself instantly gripped . . . a romance in the Joanna Trollope vein * The Times * Thoroughly enjoyable read . . . a real page turner * Good Housekeeping * This story is engrossing . . . one of my favourite books of the year so far * Mature Times * Poignant, well-observed and wonderfully written, this is a bit of a heartstring-puller * Closer *

Övrig information

Hilary Boyd trained as a nurse at Great Ormond Street Hospital, then as a marriage guidance counselor. After a degree in English Literature at London University in her thirties, she moved into health journalism, writing a Mind, Body, Spirit column for the Daily Express. She published six non-fiction books on health-related subjects before turning to fiction and writing a string of bestsellers, starting with Thursdays in the Park. Hilary is married to film director/producer Don Boyd and lives near Chichester, West Sussex.