The Hourglass (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
544
Utgivningsdatum
2017-05-04
Förlag
Quercus Publishing
Volymtitel
No. 3
Dimensioner
129 x 197 x 34 mm
Vikt
374 g
Komponenter
,
ISBN
9781784296261
The Hourglass (häftad)

The Hourglass

a Richard & Judy Bestselling Author

Häftad Engelska, 2017-05-04
229
Skickas inom 7-10 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige för privatpersoner.
'Tracy Rees writes from the heart' Kathryn Hughes, author of The Letter. Perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and The Villa in Italy. 2014. Nora has always taken success for granted, until suddenly her life begins to fall apart. Troubled by anxiety and nightmares, she finds herself drawn to the sweeping beaches of Tenby, a place she's only been once before. Together with a local girl she rents a beautiful townhouse and slowly begins to settle in to her new life. But Tenby hides a secret, and Nora will soon discover that this little town by the sea has the power to heal even the most painful memories. 1950. Chloe visits Tenby every summer. She stays with relatives, and spends the long, idyllic days on the beach. Every year is the same, until she meets a glamorous older boy and is instantly smitten. But on the night of their first date, Chloe comes to a realisation, the aftermath of which could haunt her forever. The Hourglass is a moving novel about finding love even after it seems too late and the healing power of a magical place by the sea.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Hourglass
  2. +
  3. Darling Blue

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Darling Blue av Tracy Rees (inbunden).

Köp båda 2 för 458 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Tracy Rees

Recensioner i media

Be prepared to lose yourself in this evocative tale * Candis * Rees is an elegant and intelligent writer with the gift to imbue her enchanting novels with vivid, well-drawn characters, rich historical detail, emotional wisdom and a wonderfully authentic sense of time and place * Chorley Guardian * [Tracy Rees] has a gift for creating powerful and distinct character voices...Well plotted and well written, The Hourglass will make a wonderful summer read for fans of Lucinda Riley, Rosanna Ley, Rachel Hore or Jojo Moyes * Historical Novel Reviews * Once again I found myself drawn in to Tracy Rees's wonderful story telling so that I set aside daily life until I'd devoured every word * Linda's Book Bag * Descriptive, mysterious and romantic * My Weekly * [Tracy Rees] has a wonderful way of making you feel that you're 'there' in her writing, whether 'there' is a desolate moor in the 1700s or a sunny beach in 1950s * One More Page * The characters are so evocative and the descriptions of Tenby give it the starring role * Woman * This moving tale has warmth and wisdom galore, and shows it's never too late for new beginnings * Psychologies * I absolutely loved The Hourglass. With its wonderful characters, moving storyline, and gorgeous, evocative setting in coastal Wales, it bursts with warmth on every page. It's the perfect, lose-yourself and curl up for hours read. I felt bereft when I finished! * Jenny Ashcroft, author of Beneath a Burning Sky * I can honestly say The Hourglass is one of the best books I have read in a very long time. I've been thinking about it ever since! Tracy writes so very beautifully and lyrically, conjuring up such a strong atmosphere and sense of place. Her characters have wonderful depth and richness, and the whole story felt so wise, poignant and uplifting. I loved it! A beautiful story, so atmospheric and vivid, elegantly told * Nicola Cornick * Tracy Rees describes brilliantly the feeling of being on the cusp between childhood and adulthood, with all its confusions and curiosity. I loved the strong sense of place, as well as the description of the way emotional damage can be passed down through the generations. It's an engrossing read that makes you want to rush to the nearest beach, drink hot chocolate and eat a lot of cake! * Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Secret Wife * Tracy's writing is so fresh, original and authentic * Rosanna Ley * Emotionally resonating. I loved this book's strong sense of time and place * Leah Fleming * A sparkling and compelling mystery . . . captured our hearts from the very first page * Richard and Judy on Amy Snow * An enjoyable and intriguing read * Trisha Ashley * The Hourglass is a beautifully-crafted tale of the ebb and flow of love and friendship. Rees has skilfully interwoven all the joy and pain that comes with families, friends and lovers into a multi-layered story that won't let you go. Bittersweet, compelling and utterly engrossing, I couldn't put it down * Karen Swan, bestselling author of Christmas at Tiffany's * A lovely, tender, enjoyable mystery. It made me want to visit Tenby. -- Rachel Hore Florence is such a strong, intriguing character and the plot is so clever, real and truthful. The whole book feels so very wise, as if it contains half the answers to life * Joanna Courtney, author of The Chosen Queen * Atmospheric and elegantly written, The Hourglass is an evocative story of 1950's Wales, filled with the in-depth historical detail that has become Tracy Rees's trademark * Lucinda Riley * Tracy Rees is the most outstanding new voice in historical fiction * Lucinda Riley, bestselling author * The gorgeous, evocative cover promises much, the rich narrative within delivers more. Tracy Rees writes from the heart and with an obvious passion for her characters. With this, her third novel, her reputation as a writer who never disappoints, is sealed * Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter *

Bloggat om The Hourglass

Övrig information

Tracy Rees was born in South Wales. A Cambridge graduate, she had a successful eight-year career in nonfiction publishing and a second career practising and teaching humanistic counselling. She was the winner of the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller Competition and the 2015 LoveStories 'Best Historical Read' award.